My reviews (44)

Arroz con pollo (Chicken with rice)

This one-pot chicken and rice dish is made with whole chicken pieces, but you can use a mixture of chicken thighs and drumsticks if you prefer.
Reviews (44)


06 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: jen692000
Beautiful!
 
19 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: RonEagle Elk
Made this last night for dinner. Simple easy recipe that taste wonderful. Made a full recipe (for 8 servings) and my wife and I finished about half last night and had the left overs for lunch. Tastes just like the Arroz con Pollo I used to get in Panama City and Colon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: natascha
I made this yesterday and it was wonderful. I used butter (instead of oil)to brown 8 chicken thighs (instead of cutting up a whole chicken). When I make this recipe again, I will skin the thighs and drain most of the drippings before cooking the onion mixture in them. I ended up with a lot of grease in the bottom of my dutch oven. I'd make this dish for guests. It was tasty and colorful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Abbi Kosterewa
I made this for a fathers day dinner for my family. I didn't use raisins only because I and my father do not like them. Im sure it would have given it a sweet bite so I was thinking it was going to taste a bit bland without them but it was absolutely excellent! Definitly going to make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I'm African American and my husband is Puerto Rican. I am always cooking recipes that my mother in law taught me. I decided to try this one tonight, and it's came out fantastico! My husband said it taste like back home! I will definitely make this agsim!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: NINA24
This was quite good. I made 1/2 the recipe for just my husband and I. I used 1/2 a chicken bouillon cube with 1.5 c water to make the broth. I added 1/2 tsp ground cumin to the spices, which I know made it taste even better. I'm saving this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2014
Reviewed by: Julia Woo
I have made this twice in the past 2 weeks. My husband is very picky and also on a health kick, and I feel this recipe fit the bill for him. I used chicken breasts and brown rice and cut the salt and oil for browning. I also added a generous spoonful of cumin because we love that flavor. Don't skip the raisins! I thought they sounded a little odd but they added a wonderful sweet kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: patriciafulda
OUTSTANDING! I used 5 extra-large chicken thighs (4 lbs.) and the result was heavenly. I used 2 14-oz. cans of chicken broth and 1/4 oil for browning. In the future, I plan to use less broth and 2 tablespoons oil since the browned chicken adds fat. You may want to bake it initially for only 1 hour for firmer chicken. I baked it for 1 1/2 hours as called for so that the meat would be falling off the bone which is how I like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Gina
My Honduran husband didn't talk the whole time he was eating this! ant thats saying alot!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Cynthia
Yum! This was great! So tasty, and I loved the olives (I used green olives) and raisins in it so much the next time I make I think I will use more! My Peruvian mother-in-law was visiting when I served this, and she really liked this dish very much! Thank you for the recipe! Oh! I used chicken breasts as I did not have a whole chicken on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches