My reviews (275)

Dad's strawberry crumble tart

This strawberry tart with a crumble topping is a summertime tradition in our family! Use supermarket shortcrust pastry to speed things up.
Reviews (275)


16 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: CookingCutie
By utilizing the suggestions of previous reviewers and adding a couple of my own, this pie turned out beautifully. I'll definitely be making this pie again and again. Here's what I recommend. 1) Taste your strawberries first to determine how sweet they are. This will help you decide how much sugar to use. 2) As suggested by a previous reviewer, discard the excess sugar, flour and cornstarch mixture to prevent your pie from becoming goopy and soupy. 3) Make a brown sugar oatmeal crumble topping for your pie by combining one stick of butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup oatmeal, 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a pinch of salt. The topping will be beautiful and brown.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JENNIFERK
This pie was very easy and very sweet! I thought the crumble topping might taste better made with brown sugar?! It seemed to harden up a lot and not really "crumble". I may try brown sugar next time I make it. Also, a tip if you have extra flour, sugar and cornstarch that does not mix in completely with the strawberries throw it out and do not add it to the pie. I made that mistake and it all sunk to the bottom of the pie so there was a thick layer of white gooey liquid at the bottom. Other than that it was a quick and delicious pie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Debbi H
This was the best strawberry pie I've ever had! I didn't know if I'd like a baked strawberry pie, as I'd only had the fresh, unbaked kind before but this was fantastic! As soon as I sampled my first slice I was already planning to bake another!!! Incidentally, I prefer it chilled and not eaten warm, as I believe you taste the flavors better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
A pie that doesn't turn out is worthy of *no* stars. Not even if the topping was good, which this was. I should have expected it. A half cup of flour and a tablespoon of cornstarch is waaaaay too much thickener for four cups of ANY kind of fruit and I should have followed my gut and trusted my 50 years of baking experience. I even used five cups of berries and it still was a pasty, raw floury, unappetizing goo. (This literally WAS inedible - I'm not exaggerating merely to stress a point) It was a beautiful pie, I'll give it that, because the crust was great (Harden Your Arteries Pie Crust) and the topping was beautiful and delicious. But the disaster is obvious immediately upon cutting into it. Had this recipe called for half the amount of thickener I might have ended up with a decent pie, but the recipe is what it is and, if prepared as is with the error in the ingredients, is simply awful and a failure. (For those of you who are interested, I have posted a personal photo of the cut slice which is worth a thousand words)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Yuki
Since some reviewers commented on the sweetness of the pie, I halved the sugar+flour+cornstarch mixture for the strawberries and slightly drained it on the side before putting the filling in - that helped a lot on the 'runny filling' problem, but it didn't help on the sweetness at all! If you want it less sweet, make sure you cut on the sugar in the crumb topping, because that's what's overly sweet. Also, the pie was white/yellow and rough (I could taste the granular sugar even though I sifted it), so definitely use brown sugar (sifted) for a better texture. Overall, if it weren't for the filling, this would've tasted like chunks of white sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Jackie
Absolutely delicious! I cut down on the sugar just a bit after reading reviews. I was unsure as to what to do with the leftover cornstarch/flour mixture once the berries were coated, so I tossed it out and I think that was the right thing to do (rather than putting it in the pie). I'll make this pie often! It's the BEST!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2008
Reviewed by: hlenz
This pie is fantastic!! I added blueberries and turned it into a fresh berry pie. The crumb topping is to die for!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Stephanie Morissette
This pie looked very nice and bubly coming out of the oven. I followed the advice of another reviewer and did not mound the strawberries so much, I'm glad I spread the berries out a bit. It took a turn for the worst when being served, it did not look too great on the plate, even if I let it cool down considerably. Nevertheless, it tasted great! We had the pie warm with ice cream on the side, what a treat! I will make this again and add more nutmeg to the topping next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: FreshHarvest
This is a great recipe. I go pick fresh strawberries at the local u-pick berry farm and then use them to make this pie. I made one and brought it to work and my co-workers loved it! Helpful hint: After you make it, let it sit overnight in the fridge and let everything meld together and get very cold. Tastes great the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2004
Reviewed by: FHIVESHOT
One of the few recipes worthy of stars. Outstanding pie. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.80.183.100