My reviews (346)

Rhubarb cake

An easy, foolproof rhubarb cake that's perfect for when fresh rhubarb is in season. It never fails and is chock-a-block with rhubarb in every bite.
Reviews (346)


18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: 92DORE
Excellent - I definitely will be making this again, I'm also going to use the basic recipe too for other different fruits such as blueberries, cherries, peaches - it can be endless.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
naples34102 said:
Used different ingredients. Very dense and moist cake. We loved it and will definitely make it again. I put the rhubarb through my food processer to chop it pretty fine and then drained some, but not all of the juice. I used 2 cups of the finely chopped rhubard and it was perfect. I didn't have any buttermilk so I used the rhubarb juice to add to the milk instead of lemon juice - probably between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of juice. I also didn't add the topping suggested as I didn't want a coffee cake. I used homemade cream cheese frosting and it was wonderful!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Brenda
This is a great recipe. Some other reviewers had problems with the centre falling - these tips may help. Cakes will sink or fall because of the following 1.Over-beating - too much air is incorporated 2.Under-baking - oven temp is too low or too short a baking time 3.Over or under measurement of ingredients 4.Using too small/large of baking tin 5. Make sure your oven temp is correct - preheat for at least 30 min. and ensure your oven is heating properly by using an oven thermometer for accuracy and finally, only open your oven door if you have to and then make sure 3/4 of the cooking time is up. Happy baking everyone!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
Sharon G. said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This cake is excellent! Other than adding extra chopped rhubarb (around 125g), I followed the directions exactly and the cake turned out beautifully ... I'm going to make another one this weekend to share with family. You won't be disappointed with this one!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
RICK13DEE9 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made some subs: i used only brown sugar, no caster. i used i tin of crushed pineapple and 120ml oil. added 2.5 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 3 tsp vanilla. omitted nuts and icing. I baked in two round cake tins for 40 minutes. The result was perfectly moist cake with terrific flavour, and less guilt! Suggestion: if you're using a box grater, grate the carrots on the 2nd largest holes (same ones you use to grate cheese). I made the mistake of grating on the next smaller size holes last time. The carrot shreds were too small and too many, and a lot of carrot juice was produced. All that extra liquid caused my "cake" to be more like a thin rubbery glob, even after cooking for over an hour. So make sure your carrot shreds are quite large, so you don't end up with all that unwanted carrot juice.
 
03 May 2014
Reviewed by: Tupelo70
May up the rating to five stars on my next try. Had to bake it for an hour and ten minutes due to the middle not baking affter45 mins, the mixture was very wet when I poured it into the dish so will try slightly less liquid next time.. Scrummy taste though. I make this regularly now, I've changed the ingredients slightly, 350 g rhubarb, 150 ml buttermilk, 150 g caster sugar and 120g dark brown sugar, It'snow perfect
 
01 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: kathydthatsme
everyone goes crazy for this cake!! Its fantastic. I seldom have buttermilk so I use natural yogurt instead. Love it!!
 
22 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: juniperberry
absolutely fantastic, quite possibly the best pudding I've ever made. I used 1/2 greek yog and 1/2 milk instead of buttermilk. such a crunchy topping and a fab way to deal with a glut of rhubarb
 
09 May 2014
Reviewed by: AndrewWaite
Would have been useful to have the whole recipe in the ingredients, missing was: 1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees or gas mark 4. 2. sift caster sugar & egg with the other ingredients (at this stage). If it is supposed to be foolproof, it needs to have all instructions.
 
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: RICK13DEE9
Excellent- I took another reviewer's suggestion to use 3 cups of rhubarb - next time I'm using at least 4 cups. I definitely will be making this again, I'm also going to use the basic recipe too for other different fruits such as blueberries, cherries, peaches - it can be endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches