My reviews (5,424)

Chantal's cheesecake

This classic cheesecake recipe is easy to make and so delicious. Serve with a fresh fruit compote or a drizzling of chocolate sauce.
Reviews (5424)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
KIMAR said:
Used different ingredients. Was a big hit at my husband's office! Mine didn't crack, but I was careful not to overmix and had the cream cheese at room temperature, and these are supposed to help prevent cracking. I also used a water bath, and I made sure that the side of the springform tin, not just the bottom, was well greased. (I read in a magazine that cheesecakes shrink from the sides of the pan as they cool, and if the side isn't well greased, the cheesecake will stick and, thus, crack.) I substituted Bailey's Irish Cream for the milk. A picture-perfect cheesecake!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CHUNG_BRENDA
I've made cheesecakes many times, only to have them crack and sink after cooling. With the tips that I picked up on allrecipes, this Cheesecake was a hit with my family & friends. After cooling, the top remained level and the centre firmed up. The top was a beautiful golden brown with no dry edges. The inside was creamy and smooth, and not too sweet. The tips are as follows: 1. Make sure that your ingredients are around room temperature, not cold, otherwise your batter will be lumpy. 2. Wrap your springform tin with 2 layers of aluminium foil to prevent water in the bain marie (water bath) from seeping in. 3. Place your springform tin in a water bath in the oven, filled with very hot water, then proceed to bake as instructed in the recipe. 4. Right after baking, run a warm or greased knife around the rim of the cake to prevent cracking while cooling. 5. Leave the cake in the oven for 2 hours to cool. (I didn't have time to leave it in for the recommended 6 hrs, and it still works.) ENJOY!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Morena
OK - I don't want to be rude, but this is the deal: this is a perfect recipe, and if it fails for you, it's your fault, not the recipe's. A couple of things you should know about cheesecakes: OVER-BEATING WILL CAUSE A CHEESECAKE TO CRACK. Beat cream cheese with sugar only until smooth. Proceed with a wooden spoon for the rest of the recipe. OVERBEATING WILL CAUSE A CHEESECAKE TO HAVE THE "WRONG" TEXTURE. Air bubbles, gritty/not creamy texture, etc., are fixed my the same instructions above. OVERCOOKING WILL CAUSE A CHEESECAKE TO CRACK. Do NOT cook this cheesecake until it's set. Matter of fact, don't check it at all. Put the cheesecake in the oven, set the timer to 60 min., turn the oven off, and forget it. I mean it! Don't open the oven, just leave it alone to do its thing. And that's it. A beautiful cheesecake. Far from bland: this is a PURIST'S cheesecake. It's great as is, but also a great foil for other flavours. I serve mine with passionfruit pulp or mango puree.
 
26 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: 1Tom
My kids are my critics and they can be harsh as they have been taught to be honest but this is thier allrecipe fave by far
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MARIGOBOE
Recipe turned out great! I didn't have a tin big enough to put my springform tin in for a water bath, so I just put it on a rack and put a tin of water underneath it. It was steamy enough to produce a perfectly uncracked cake. Cake texture still turned out PERFECT.
 
28 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: NatalijaBeddard
Absolutely amazing! I had to adjust the quantity and instead of milk I added fresh papaya puree . Next time will follow the recepie but still will do it with papaya. My husband loved it.
 
11 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Alanthack
Did exactly as stated on the recipe and it was perfect no cracks no sticking perfect . Simply follow this simple to follow recipe and you won't go wrong...
 
10 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: littlemoid
Not sure what went wrong - this was my first attempt at a cheesecake, but I followed the recipe and didn't over mix. It was very golden, and cracked but that wouldn't have bothered me, but the taste just wasn't there.
 
14 May 2012
Reviewed by: batfink
Lovely recipe. Thanks!
 
08 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: WooWoo
This is delicious. I used all the ingredients at room temperature, but didn't use a bain marie. It was very rich and went well with a fruit coulis.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches