My reviews (24)

Roast goose with port gravy

I've made this roast goose several times and it is fantastic. A perfect Christmas dinner!
Reviews (24)


21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: breadlover
Excellent recipe, but 1 point to make. Use the fat removed prior to cooking by making goose-fat pastry. For the pastry: remove the large, visible chunks of fat you'll see inside the raw goose. They are obvious. Put them in a pan with some cold water and heat very slowly until melted. Cool, then chill in the fridge. Lift off the fat; freeze it. For ordinary shortcrust pastry use 2oz of fat to 7oz of flour, plus salt as usual. Grate the frozen fat into the flour, rubbing in in the normal way, then binding with very cold water. Rest, then use. PS I always add some lemon juice before the cold water. (Goose fat has a very low boiling point, so it has to be frozen to make pastry).
 
12 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: persy
I love goose at Christmas! The goose fat I collect lasts us all year and is very healthy fat being mono-unsaturated. Have a look at the nutrition and health page on this website. There are also some nice recipes! http://www.goosefat.co.uk/page/home
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Jenn
This is a great recipe for any time of year, and the gravy is absolutely gorgeous.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Lys
THe meat was excellent and so was the gravy.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
I served this meal on Christmas Eve to my family. They couldn't believe how juicy the goose was without being greasy, and my mom loved the gravy the best! I did turn the goose over for about 20 minutes to get it brown all over, but I will use this recipe again!
 
18 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: czechmate
I rate this based on the extensive and detailed recipe. I have been roasting a goose for last 40 years and the simple European recipe is still the best. Only salt and caraway rubbed inside and outside. Never pick the skin until the last 30-40 minutes stage of roasting. It holds the precious juices that will come out for the sauce you keep. You collect the clear fat( very precious stuff for roux and even medicinal purpose) every 30 minutes. After you finally prick the meat you add broth from the neck and giblets. (You can fry the liver on the goose fat for the pate).Goose is not done ,until the legs move freely when pushed. Rule is the same as with the rotisserie roasting: do not rush to get the color on the skin. It will get golden when it's time comes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: VENITRA
I served this meal on Christmas Eve to my typically Midwestern family. They couldn't believe how juicy the goose was without being greasy, and my mom loved the gravy the best! I did turn the goose over for about 20 minutes to get it brown all over, but I will use this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: gerryz
Excellent recipe, but 1 point to make. Use the fat removed prior to cooking by making goose-fat pastry. For the pastry: remove the large, visible chunks of fat you'll see inside the raw goose. They are obvious. Put them in a pan with some cold water and heat very slowly until melted. Cool, then chill in the fridge. Lift off the fat; freeze it. For ordinary shortcrust pastry use 2oz of fat to 7oz of flour, plus salt as usual. Grate the frozen fat into the flour, rubbing in in the normal way, then binding with very cold water. Rest, then use. PS I always add some lemon juice before the cold water. (Goose fat has a very low boiling point, so it has to be frozen to make pastry).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: HOTHAIR22
THe meat was excellent and so was the gravy, but there was almost no meat on the goose. Will make similar gravy again, but not the goose.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Madame Roux
If ANYONE is silly enough to discard goose fat, please discard it my way. The fat from 1 goose (rendered and frozen) will last even a New Orleans cook for a year. It yields the most incredible mouth feel and tase to any dish using oil, and you can't imagine the superior quality of a goose fat roux. The port and sherry are great flavors with this, and adding fresh tarragon makes it even more out of this world. P.S. Way to go.....Saints are 13-0!!!! Laissez les bon temps roulle!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches