My reviews (106)

Cabbage soup

A hearty soup, great for a cold, blustery winter day. It is best cooked one day ahead, refrigerated overnight and heated just before serving.
Reviews (106)


Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Took shortcuts. Delicious soup! I added a tin of drained cannellini beans during the last 15 minutes of simmering. (A restaurant we visited served a White Bean and Cabbage Soup so I went searching for a recipe and came upon this one.) I chopped the cabbage very finely, and I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic minced, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, and 1/4 tsp. Tabasco when I added the stock. Save yourself time and effort - there is absolutely no need to microwave the carrots and celery - just add them in raw along with the other ingredients. The soup turned out perfectly, and the black pepper along with the Tabasco gave it a very slight bite.
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
ilovemyboys said:
Took shortcuts. This soup is great! I don't have a microwave, so I just put all of the ingredients into the pot, raw. They come out perfectly. The second time I made it, I added green beans. It was delicious! I will add potatoes next time.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MARJORIERATLIFF
The beauty of this recipe is its versatility. So, add whatever veggies you have on hand (potato, green beans, peas, sweetcorn, courgette etc); beans are great (I use kidney beans or black-eyed beans). If you want meat, you can add sliced sausage or even cooked and diced bacon. Pasta also makes for a hearty soup/stew. I like to top it with a little grated Cheddar cheese, and, served with some buttered brown bread, it makes for a really great meal. Fantastic!
 
19 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: taitiym
The veg was tender without precooking which was really nice but if you don't like the taste of ketchup you won't like this as it is the biggest taste - not tomato as I assumed - tomato ketchup. Next time I will omit this altogether, maybe add a little tomato puree instead which doesn't have the same sweetness as ketchup.
 
11 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: SarahFoster
Skipped the tinned tomatoes and added extra onion, it was delicious 😋 Will add the tomatoes next time! Thank you
 
15 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: debbie63
I want to make this! It sounds yummy!!
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
YARDNYMPH said:
Used different ingredients. Fantastic! I added a little lean mince, and it reminded me of cabbage rolls, minus the work! It was great, I'll make it many times again!
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: WEINREICH
GREAT FOR DIABETICS! OUTSTANDING!!!!
 
15 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Delicious soup! I added a can of drained cannellini (white kidney) beans during the last 15 minutes of simmering. (A restaurant we visited served a White Bean and Cabbage Soup so I went searching for a recipe and came upon this one.) An 11.5 oz can of V-8 is just the right size to use in this recipe since it equates roughly to 1 1/2 cups. I chopped the cabbage very finely, and I added 2 cloves of fresh garlic minced, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, and 1/4 tsp. Tabasco when I added the broths. Save yourself time and effort - there is absolutely no need to microwave the carrots and celery - just add them in raw along with the other ingredients. I only added 2 cans of water since I prefer a thick soup, and I brought the soup to a boil and then lowered the temp. to simmer it for 2 hours. Didn't see the need to boil the soup for 30 minutes in addition to 2 hrs. of simmering! The soup turned out perfectly, and the black pepper along with the Tabasco gave it a very slight bite. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
The beauty of this recipe is its versatility. If you check out 'Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup,' 'Minestrone Soup,' and 'Kielbasa Stew' you'll see they are all pretty much variations on the same theme. So, add whatever veggies you have on hand (potato, green beans, peas, corn, zucchini etc); beans are great (I use kidney beans or black-eye peas). If you want meat, you can throw in sliced brats, kielbasa, or even cooked and crumbled bacon. Pasta also makes for a hearty soup/stew. I like to top it with a little grated Cheddar cheese, and, served with a biscuit or some buttered brown bread, it makes for a really great meal. Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches