My reviews (5,646)

Clone of a cinnabon

The dough for these cinnamon buns is made in a bread machine before it is shaped into buns and baked in the oven. If you don't have a bread machine, follow the notes at the bottom of this recipe.
Reviews (5646)


Comment:
15 Sep 2008
MICKYO said:
Something else. These are fantastic! It's a fairly quick and easy recipe as far as cinnamon buns go, and you definitely DON'T NEED A BREAD MACHINE to make them. Just use an 7 gram pack of dry active yeast and knead the dough with your hands and a rolling pin. Then heat the oven to 90 degrees C and then TURN IT OFF. COVER the dough with a moist towel over the bowl, and put in the oven for around 1 hour (the dough will almost double in size) then roll out and fill. Use dental floss to cut buns into 12 pieces (1 and 3/4 inch thick). Also, some reviews mentioned that there was too much brown sugar and cinnamon, but i would recommend sticking with what the recipe calls for...double the amount of icing though!! Also, you can use butter or margarine in the recipe, both are equally as good (i use both when i make them). When you bake them, line your tin with greaseproof paper that has been greased with butter or margarine, and remove them immediately after baking, or they will stick. Bake at 175 for 20 minutes and they will turn out perfect. This recipe rocks : )
 
17 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jabberwock
First time I have made anything like this and wasn't sure I had done the dough right as it was full of bubbles as I was rolling it, then I struggled to roll it tight enough as it was very soft and lost sugar out of the middles as I transferred them to the tin. The result, absolutely lovely so don't worry if this happens to yours. Will definitely be making these again-they disappeared very quickly. I did struggle to spread the butter over the dough even though I had softened and creamed it with a wooden spoon first and the sugar didn't really stick to it that well so next time I might mix the butter with the sugar in a bowl before I put it on the dough and I will roll out the dough on clingfilm so I can roll it tighter. Super recipe-give it a go.
 
Comment:
09 Dec 2008
mandwhy said:
Something else. I put sultanas into the dough too, although next time I will put them into the sugar and cinammon mix for chelsea buns!
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JENJA
These are fantastic cinnamon buns but I have yet to see people suggest the key part to these! As soon as you take them out of the oven you need to flip the tin over which allows all of the yummy cinnamon drippings to recoat the buns. I have heard a lot of you state that the filling has simply run out of the rolls. This alleviates that and makes them to die for. Good luck!
 
Comment:
25 Sep 2010
McLibby said:
Something else. Baked for 10 mins at 190°C in fan oven, which gave perfect buns (but that's just my oven!) This recipe is great!
 
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
MOMS2398 said:
Something else. Someone wanted to know how to make this without a bread machine, here is how. Dissolve the yeast in the warm milk in a large bowl. Mix in the sugar, butter, salt and eggs. Add flour and mix well. Knead the dough into a large ball, using your hands dusted lightly with flour. Put in a bowl, cover and let rise in a warm place about 1 hour, or until doubled in size. Then pick up with rolling out the dough. Hope this helped!
 
30 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Jo.mac
Totally awesome cinnamon rolls! Mum was addicted to them while in the US for a teaching exchange and has asked me not to make them again I have a bread machine, but made them in my food mixer instead - no bother at all. I had a wee problem with the sugar/cinnamon mix falling out when I rolled the dough up, so mixed it in with the butter the next time. I had to give it a few seconds in the microwave to soften the mix off enough to spread on the soft dough - worked a treat! Once they are cooked (I did them at 180) they kept well for 4/5 days and were more enjoyable after a 15/20 second whizz in the microwave. All in all, delicious cinnamon rolls - give them a go, you won't be disappointed!!! Oh, and enjoy!
 
21 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Soph85
I have just made these, they took quite a long time but OH MY they are incredible!!! I'm 7 months pregnant and been craving Cinnabon for about a month but we don't live near a Cinnabon shop! Well no need from now on as these really are identical I didn't use all the cinnamon and sugar mix as it just seemed too much. I also thought 200 degrees for 15 mins seemed too much. I cooked them at 190 for 10 mins and they're perfect!
 
14 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Áine
These tasted really nice but I had to modify the recipe. The instructions above could be more specific. 200c was far to high a temperature for these as they were burning on the top and raw in the middle. As the top of mine looked brown and cooked, I turned them out onto a cooling rack only for them to spread sideways. I quickly threw them onto a flat tray and stuck them back in the oven which created an unholy mess in my kitchen. I turned them down low and cooked them out. The end result was like some sort of swirly cinnamon pizza but it did taste good. next time I will cook at about 180c and allow them to cool in the tin. Also, when I made the icing it was so thick I had to spread it like butter - definitely no drizzling to be done here. Next time, I'll try leaving out the cream cheese.
 
Comment:
15 Sep 2008
briony said:
Altered ingredient amounts. very good! We have already made this recipe twice and I just downloaded it three days ago! I have a few suggestions though...1 T. of cinnamon was plenty. Also, we did one batch in a glass dish and the other in a metal cake tin and the glass dish batch turned out better. Finally, we mixed the butter with the cinnamon and sugar and then spread it on in our first batch. They turned out great and it was easier to do it this way. The batch where we spread the butter on first and then sprinkled the sugar mixture over the top wasn't as good because the sauce ran out the bottom and crystalised on the bottom of the tin. Still good, but not as good. The icing was delicious! I licked every spoon and beater clean!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches