My reviews (9)

Traditional Christmas Pudding

This is a fairly basic Christmas plum pudding recipe but unlike other recipes it can actually have plums in it. Unfortunately the ingredient list is so long it isn't easy to make it in less than industrial quantities! This could prove fortunate, however, as they make great food gifts. You can substitute a mixture of fresh and dried apricots of peaches for the plums if you wish.
Reviews (9)


10 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: starfish
Alot of ingredients but turned out very moist. I made smaller versions in 1/2 pint tubberware bowls to give away as gifts.
 
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: GaydonRUG
Perfecto
 
04 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: redfenceacre
at cooking school my pastry chef was from England and we learned to make a wish not only for the pudding but also for xmas fruit cakes! thank you for sharing this tit bits. I usually replace the suet with butter and like this recipe, uses what ever in the baking pantry, including dates, plum, apricot and cranberries. I like some nuts but very finely chopped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah E.A.G.
"Plum Pudding" simply means that it contains raisins, not our modern American idea of plums. "Plum" is the old, obsolete term for "raisin." A traditional English plum pudding contains raisins, not plums. Common misconception!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: DTB8
I presented this pudding at the Christmas dinner table last year and my family were amazed - to this day the think I'm a culinary genius!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: HELENEFU
Just the recipe I wanted! Great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Stuart Fraser
I made this one last year, I found it very much to my taste, but my children and family found it too nutty. . .
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Rachel
The flavor of the pudding was good when I tasted the batter, but I steamed the pudding for 9.5 hrs, checked it, and it was very dark and the entire outside of the pudding seems burnt. I have never burnt anything while steaming before and didn't even know that was possible.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: ArtishaTatianna
I love plum pudding & I must say this is one of the best recipes I have found. Thank you for sharing yours
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches