My reviews (355)

Gran's Gingersnaps

This was my mother-in-law's recipe and my husband's favourite. Shorten or lengthen the cooking time for a softer or crisper biscuit.
Reviews (355)


08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: BobFraples
If you're looking for a recipe to make GingerNuts like the ones you get in the UK, this is it! Recipes that don't include treacle and egg are just plain old gingerbread. These biscuits are fantastic and I made 1/2 a batch to start with, which lasted less than a day. See my tweaks below regarding salt and cooking times. The first batch were a bit soft and chewy, which was nice but they're even better with a crunch! It's almost mesmerising watching the little sugared balls spread out, rise up and sink back down (when they do that, they're ready to come out) then I danced around the kitchen with uncontrollable joy when I whipped out my perfect GingerNuts! Awesome! Thanks!
 
Comment:
08 Feb 2011
BobFraples said:
Something else. They came out slightly soft after 10 minutes, so did a second batch for 12 mins and they came out nice and crunchy. Wouldn't leave them in any longer though as they were starting to brown on the edges.
 
Comment:
08 Feb 2011
BobFraples said:
Altered ingredient amounts. The recipe doesn't specify unsalted butter, however when using SALTED butter I find it necessary to half the amount of added salt.
 
14 May 2012
Reviewed by: Taralarapie
these are so easy and so perfect! THE best ginger snaps ever!
 
20 May 2012
Reviewed by: GabrielaM
As my dough wasn´t solid enough to make little balls (and I didn´t want to put it on the fridge and wait) I placed it in the tray as if I was making brownies, and cut little squares once it was cooled. The result: wonderful gingerwnies!! P.S I used half the ingredients but kept one full tablespoon of ginger (I love it!!). Didn´t add cinnamon.
 
14 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Eliz
 
23 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: fredbear2000
Very easy recipe except I added 185g of treacle by accident so added double of everything else. Apart from that i had know problems and the biscuits were yum!
 
15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: saettlelight
These cookies were easy to make and came out absolutely delicious! I substituted the treacle for dark molasses. And then ate about half the batch these cookies are so addictive.
 
17 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: 😀CrazedBaker
I adjusted the amount of ingredients in the recipe to my liking they turned out well for my school project.
 
07 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Merlin5
I have a problem. I gave a few to some friends, who then insisted I came home to get them some more. Now, one week on, I've got other friends demanding to know where theirs are so just dug out the recipe for batch number 2. These are stupidly delicious, and dreadful for the waistline. Crisp on the outside, chewy in the middle, and ridiculously more-ish. Makes loads, just not enough for Miss Piggy here and all her muppet mates.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches