My reviews (169)

Polly Welby's famous lemon drizzle cake

A simple, light and moist lemon drizzle cake topped with a very lemony lemon icing. This will be your go-to lemon cake recipe!
Reviews (169)


Comment:
28 Aug 2010
angiedodd said:
Something else. After taking the sponge out the oven I heated the juice of 3 lemons and mixed it with 100g icing sugar, made loads of holes in the cake with a skewer and poured the syrup into the cake. Once it had cooled I mixed icing sugar with lemon juice to make lovely lemon icing then decorated it with grated lemon zest. The result was the most gorgeous moist sponge with a lovely delicate lemon flavouring throughout.
 
23 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Dee.Bazz
I didn't read the recipe carefully and put the lemon juice in the cake mix but it turned out to be excellent anyway! I used a second lemon for the icing et voilĂ !
 
Comment:
09 Apr 2009
andreab said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added the zest of another small lemon, but I must admit I really like lemon
 
Comment:
30 Jan 2012
JackieS said:
Oh and just another warning, the eggs should be medium size. Too much egg will curdle the mix and this can happen if you use large eggs (I've done that!). It is also better if the eggs are at room temperature before you use them.
 
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: babycook
Deliciously light, fluffy and moist sponge. Highly recommended. Mine took 35 mins so keep an eye on it! Also tried this out without any lemon but added a teaspoon of vanilla essence instead. Made a lovely vanilla loaf with butter icing on top. Secret is not to mix all 5 ingredients together at once but to cream sugar and butter first, then add eggs and whisk in well, then fold in flour. Add milk right at end. YUMMY! Just a note about the topping...for a crunchier topping try 175g granulated sugar mixed with the juice of 2 lemons. Pour over the cake while it is still just warm. Delish!!
 
09 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: traceyrennie
I used a 2lb loaf tin with a paper liner which meant it looked really professional when it came out. It was easy to make and was moist and buttery. This is now a regular in my repatoire.
 
27 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: FRYETT5
I loved this. Have made it once as described and it was moist and totally lemony (although I added the zest of 2 lemons). I then made it again and used orange zest instead of the lemons and put them in muffin cases, hiding a frozen whole raspberry in each muffin. They took 30 mins to cook and were delicious too. A good alternative! Made 11 muffins.
 
31 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: HappySunshine
This is now one of my favourite recipes, everyone loves it and half of the cake magically disappears overnight from people sneaking to eat it! I have also made it without the lemon for a basic sweet loaf cake that is good for anyone and anytime. Thank you, I love it!
 
31 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: kazz65
lovely cake, made 3 in 2 days, every ones favorite, i skewered a few holes in top of cake. so easy to make
 
24 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Stratoula
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I made it yesterday and it is superb! Only thing I will adjust next time is the cooking time. Will check loaf at forty minutes. I left it until 50 minutes and it was burnt most of the way round. Was easy to make and I am no Nigella in the kitchen by a long chalk. If I can make it anyone can. I will be making it again so yummy! Would highly recommend it
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches