My reviews (14)

Steak and kidney pie with bacon and mushrooms

A delicious steak and kidney pie including bacon, mushrooms and red wine. Excellent winter fare.
Reviews (14)


03 May 2011
Reviewed by: sidneyworm
This pie is so delicious we ended up eating it all between two of us. So yummy, well worth the effort
 
Comment:
18 Oct 2008
bettybog said:
Altered ingredient amounts. At stage 3 - instead of simmering for 1 1/2 hours, cook in a pressure cooker on highest marker (red) for 25-30mins.
 
04 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Beca
Very yummy - hard to cut the kidneys though :S x
 
09 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: tails130
this pie is yummy instead of making one whole pie I separated it Into small dishes and froze to eat at a later date, making It an easy tea when you're home late. Also instead of lining the dishes with pastry I just placed the pastry on top so it's not so fattening but just as delicious :-)
 
06 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: LauraPage
smells yummy cant wait to try it
 
13 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Kathy
Lovely winter food. I made it up into individual pies, using bacon and dried mushrooms (which I soaked in the wine/stock mix to soften before I cooked them). I also added fresh rosemary and thyme (because I had them). The mashed potato inside the pie is a winner - cuts the saltiness of the meat mix beautifully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Cal
Like Kathy, I added rosemary and thyme to this dish, and I think it improved it. I also added a few cloves of garlic, crushed. The flavor was great and I enjoyed the mashed potatoes in the pie - however, I found that the bottom crust did not bake and came out gummy, even after baking the pie for a full 30 mins. Next time, I think I'll try partially blind-baking the bottom crust or upping the baking temp to 400.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2009
Reviewed by: waynne
it worked on a cold Christchurch NZ night with snow on the ground. I also added some lambs fry (sheeps liver). Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: ANGELINA
Delicious. Also tried this as a shepherd's pie, browning without the pastry crust and milk as a gluten free recipe. Yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Sophie
great recipe, very tasty. Last time I made this, we were having some friends at home and to fancy it up a bit, I added some chunks of brie cheese in the cold meat mixture. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches