My reviews (14)

Curry sauce

This is a flavourful curry sauce from a recipe given to me by an Indian friend. It's great with chickpeas or vegetables. This sauce also freezes beautifully.
Reviews (14)


Comment:
30 Nov 2008
Why do we always have to add "1 tablespoon curry paste" ? I thought this was a cook's site, surly it's not hard to make your own masala! Simply opening jars should not be allowed!
 
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: JENNYLYN1
AWESOME! I put all the ingredients in my slow cooker, used veggie broth instead of water, added a few tablespoons of butter, and simmered all day. Didn't puree anything; the onions broke down on their own over time. A couple hours before dinner I quickly sauteed some cubed potatoes for a few minutes and then added them and a can of garbanzo beans. Let it simmer for a couple hours more and we had the perfect curry! It was SO GOOD-smelled amazing in the house while cooking and the taste was perfect. It was quite spicy but we like it that way. Served with basmati rice and naan. This will be a favorite and so easy and adaptable too! Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: mommymeggy
Delicious and flavorful. I took a short-cut for the sake of time by chopping the onion in the food processor and then cooking, rather than cook then puree. I served with chicken over rice...yum~
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: KYM25
This was my first attempt at curry and this recipe is a great place to start - the flavour was excellent. I would say to make sure your water JUST covers your onions or you will end up with a very thin sauce. Also, I used 4T of hot curry paste and it was not very hot. May need more, or it could be I used too much water with my onions? I cooked this in a slow cooker with skinless chicken thighs and legs. Very easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: crumpetsryum
I have this recipe in my slow cooker at the moment with some chicken pieces, and i tell you its worth making just for the smell alone! Its easy, smells divine and is a family favourite in my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
14 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tua34417
I found this recipe unpleasant as the amount of onions used were overwhelming. It’s possible that’s other might enjoy it but it was not for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Elaine
It was too spicy hot for the children. I would probably omit the red pepper flakes. It needs body... perhaps some tomato paste would have helped with that. I added some coconut cream to help alleviate the heat. It makes A LOT!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Dennis Carroll
I pureed the onion and garlic before simmering as one other reviewer suggested. Delicious. I froze the sauce and then thawed and reheated. I added a little half and half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Gen
I thought it was on great, used it on tofu cubes, bell peppers, onions & portabellas sauteed in citrus soy sauce on a bed of rice. I couldn't find any garam masala locally though, so I had to leave that out, unfortunately.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Becka
This recipe hit the spot for us! I think its one that can be customized or altered based on your tastes & available ingredients. I used estimates on everything & it still came out great. My favorite is to cook chicken or pork in lime & onions, add it to this sauce, & serve over quinoa. I also added some leftover HUMMUS last minute, sort of on a whim, and it actually filled out the sauce & gave it great body! Fresh tomatoes are great to use this time of year too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches