My reviews (9)

Jerusalem artichoke and sausage soup

This soup combines the savoury flavors of leeks, spinach, Jerusalem artichokes, sausage, garlic, parsley, celery and potatoes. Serve it on a cold evening with a hearty piece of crusty of bread for a warming meal.
Reviews (9)


06 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Kate Wesch
This was my first time eating sunchokes and they were delightful! This soup was superb. I used ground turkey instead of sausage and cooked the meat before adding the rest. Served it with homemade whole wheat bread and it was a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2008
Reviewed by: HollyC
Excellent flavor! Sauteed the vegies, browned the meat and then finished cooking in the crock pot. I did not add the flour/water for thickening. Will definitely make this soup again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: SerenaBloom
This really is one of my favorites. Hate to rate my own recipe but sunchokes are totally underrated. I just made this again the other day and EVERYONE loved it. So unusual around here with all the rabid meat eaters!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JillT
I changed this slightly and used pork sausage sicne that was what I had on hand. I also omitted the bacon. I made it in the slow cooker and didn't thicken it at the end. It was delicious and reminded me of Italian wedding soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: SpicyBurrito
I have to preface this with, I ate at a great restaurant last nite and woke up this morning still craving the Jerusalem artichoke soup I had, and this recipe appeared to be the closest. I had to half this recipe because I was making it for just my boyfriend and I. I substituted the turkey bacon for 4oz of pancetta, the turkey sausage for Italian chicken sausage, and fresh kale for the spinach. I did not add the pancetta or the chicken sausage to the veggies that were cooking for 45 min. After the 45min, I poured in 1/4 cp of heavy cream and 3/4 cp of half-n-half, mashed the potatoes with a potato masher, and then used my immersion blender to make the whole thing creamy. I added 1 Tbsp of sugar (kinda to cut the cayenne b/c I used a 1/2 tsp of it), and a healthy splash of lemon juice, and the chopped and cooked pancetta and chicken sausage. I let it all go for another 30 min, and in the end, this tasted as close to Chef Michael Chittum's Jerusalem Artichoke soup at Vermillion in Old Town Alexandria, VA, as a mere mortal could ever dream to come close to!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Trynity
I used regular bacon and mild Italian sausage and added mushrooms and baby spinach and it was delicious! Everyone loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Linda T
Been wanting to make this for a very long time. Finally got some sunchokes. I subbed chicken sausage for turkey and used dried basil and oregano. really delicious.. first time trying sunchokes. Can't wait to use them in other dishes...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: WawaLee
Didn't have sausage or bacon on hand, so I omitted those ingredients and just added a cubed chicken breast (split in half, baked in oven at 350 til done). It was enough for our family of 5 - maybe a total of 7 servings??? And we have young kids. DELICIOUS!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: Camilla McKinnon Fogle
Used pork sausage and bacon, substituted kale for the spinach as that was what was in the fridge. Turned out great both.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches