My reviews (29)

Harvest Pumpkin Soup

Roasting the pumpkin develops the flavour and ensures this simple pumpkin soup tastes as good as it does with only a handful of ingredients.
Reviews (29)


10 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: famosoeduardo
very easy to make. it taste great! I did not use cream as I find it light to digest and still good. I also add a bit of turmeric as an extra . the roast pumpkin taste makes the soup so special.
 
13 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Sica
Tip: cut your pumpkin into quarters after you clean out the seeds & wrap it in plastic wrap. Then microwave & let it cool before you peel the shell off. It will come right off & you won't burn your fingers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Maureen
Great basic recipe. I used it for a dinner party of 60 and had many requests for the recipe. I used canned pumpkin and 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream and added the pumpkin pie spice another reviewer had suggested. It is definately a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Polaroidbaby
This soup was incredibly difficult to make. After burning my fingers peeling off pumpkin skins and spending long amounts of time pureeing and preparing it, I was very disappointed in how it turned out. My fiance, however, put brown sugar on it and said it was amazing. He also ate hamburger helper once that I made with vanilla soy milk on accident, so take that into consideration.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: RBREAR
excellent--as good as that served on Thanksgiving Day 2002 at Galveston's elegant Moody Gardens Hotel fete in the ballroom However, I prefer the soup sans sour cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Cathy
Nice and rich, but very mildly flavored. I would saute a chopped onion at the beginning if I were to make it again. I would also add some paprika or even a bit of heat
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: liffa
So easy to make! Found two little sugar pumpkins at the Farmer's Market begging to come home with me. I'm sure canned pumpkin would work, too, but it was really fun roasting my own. I didn't have sage, so I substituted poultry seasoning. Use the best chicken stock you can buy, it always makes a big difference. I also adjusted the seasonings by putting in more than called for. I'm going to make this next time I have company for dinner in the fall, and served it out of a pumpkin shell. Deceptively good for such little work!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: LAIZYDAISY67
Yummy! Very easy to make. It was a bit salty for our family, so will decrease the salt next time. Used canned pumpkin, and added a dash of pumpkin pie spice. We loved it, even the little kids!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Alex
Polaroidbaby,That was Sooo Funny !! Hats off to you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Home Grown
I had a large amount of pie pumpkins and wanted to try something new. This was great I gave it 4 stars because I did a little tweaking. I added an additional cup of pumpkin puree because my family likes thick soups. I didn’t have any whipping cream on had so I used evaporated milk, I also added some onion, garlic, cayenne pepper and black pepper to taste. This was a hit with my 4 ½ year old and husband and we will be serving on Thanksgiving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches