My reviews (97)

Easy Digestive Base

Use this simple recipe anytime you need a foolproof digestive base for a cheesecake, banoffee pie or tart.
Reviews (97)


07 May 2017
Reviewed by: PamThompson
very disappointed. Buying a packet of biscuits isn't cooking. I avoid all processed stuff, particularly biscuits because they mostly contain palm oil and more refined sugar and salt that I choose to have in my diet. I was looking for a recipe for a biscuit base in order to make cheese cakes. "Buy a packet of biscuits and crush them" isn't cooking.
 
17 May 2016
Reviewed by: tjnice
well needed to find a recipe quick for a cheesecake and ths did the job top one easy to do and fool proof loved it great thanks. sal
 
13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Sally S.
I was pretty stupid with this one: When I read "16 graham crackers" I thought the WHOLE cracker (with the 4 separations in it) was 1 cracker, when it was actually 4!!! So I ended up using 64 crackers (4X the number needed), which of course resulted in there not being enough butter to moisten them. After I realized this, I removed 1/2 the crackers and added another 1/4 cup of butter, and it turned out fine even though the proportions were off! Make sure you know that 1 cracker is 1/4 of a "sheet" as it comes in the package!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: mommymeggy
4*'s because the recipe needs an alteration. Sorry, but some of these reviews are just dead wrong in terms of what is meant by "16 crackers." The only way to fill up the pie plate (I used a 9 inch) substantially enough to get a sturdy crust is to use 16 WHOLE graham crackers: that's 16 of the large rectangles. Otherwise your crust will be flimsy & very difficult to spread evenly. However, in using 16 whole crackers you have to increase the butter to a 1/2 CUP. With those indications it's a great crust. I made it with Key Lime Pie VII so the no-sugar-needed aspect of this crust was a perfect compliment. I did not pre-bake (only baked the time necessary for the pie) and I greased the pie plate w/ the butter wrapper. The pie slices slipped right out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Nadia
Great! I used this for cheesecake and didn't prebake it beforehand. I used 1 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Duckball
A perfect pie crust. All that added sugar in other crusts is unnecessary! This works well with either butter or margarine, and it's an easy start to a super-quick recipe - a pudding pie! Although you might want to spray a little non-stick spray into the pie plate before adding the crumb-butter mixture, I've had problems trying to get the crust to come loose from the pan. A little Pam spray and it's so much easier. Thanks, Sara!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NIAGARACHERYL
I'm giving this recipe only 4 stars since it doesn't give enough information, otherwise it's a good crust. If you're using a deep dish pie plate, you'll need to increase the recipe. Also, if you're using Graham Cracker crumbs, then you'll need actual measurements. Therefore, for a deep dish pie crust, use 2 cups crumbs and 1/2 cup butter/margarine. And make sure you press down firmly all over the pie plate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: STARDUST_331
I've always made this crust by eyeing the proportions - it's great to finally have an exact recipe! It looks like 1 tbsp butter per 'sheet' of 4 graham crackers. Crushed the graham crackers in a ziplock bag with a rolling pin. Works great with margarine also, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: The Way To His Heart
I have made this crust many times from this recipe and it always turns out great. I usually double it and put it in a casserole dish for a larger dessert. Be sure to press it firmly. That is the key to success.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Kristine
As far as taste goes, I would give this a 5 *****, but it was just a pain to make. I needed about another tablespoon or so of butter (don't expect it to clump so much). It just takes some time to get used to it, get working with it in the pie pan to stick and hold a good shape. After baking, however, it keeps together perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches