My reviews (1,266)

Perfect roast turkey

A perfectly seasoned and juicy turkey. My friend from France taught me to cook turkey like this, but she never measures anything so use your own judgment for vegetable amounts, etc. I usually err on the side of 'more is better'!
Reviews (1266)


08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: dannyboy
Made this for an early Christmas dinner we had with some relatives. The wine is a great idea - it keeps the turkey really moist. Made my own stuffing, too. I'll submit the recipe soon.
 
10 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: dazbobken
tried this at christmas. what a success, no turkey leftovers! got to do this again at easter
 
04 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: redamber
Just a quick tip on how to brine a turkey, especially when your fridge is full of other holiday goodies! Ive done it this way for a few years now, and it works great. Instead of soaking in the stock pot overnight, I put the turkey & brine mixture in a oven bag, squeeze out the air, and tie it shut. Put the bagged turkey in a cooler with ice overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
This really does make the juiciest turkey. Cooks Illustrated magazine recommends letting the turkey sit in the refrigerator for several hours uncovered after rinsing off the brine, so that the skin will brown and crisp up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: tawanda
I loved this recipe when I made it last year for Christmas, but I have a question...when I turned the bird 2/3 through cooking it fell apart. Does anyone know why? Did I cook it too long?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: gfkitchnwitch
This is outrageous. My husband was a serious skeptic of the brining process... until carving time came. I'm amazed the bird made it to the table! Absolutely amazing. *Definitely* use more vegetables. Especially carrots. I added a smidge of wine to the gravy I made from the drippings and it set it off perfectly. Definitely the best gravy we've ever had -- which we didn't even need with such a moist, delicious turkey! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Shanna
fantastic!!! i will never make a turkey another way again!!! The veggies were awesome! I was so nervous to flip the turkey cause I was by myself!!, but I have a tip...take 2 pot holders and put them in freezer ziplock bags. put your hands in the bags, grab the bird and flip!!! it was sooooooo easy...i didn't even burn myself...lol!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: K-Mom
I have used this recipe for 3 years...it always comes out succulent. Even the leftovers are moist days later. I double up oven baking bags to brine overnight in the fridge. (I don't use the oven bags to cook in though.) The meat isn't salty, so don't be afraid to use the full amount of kosher salt. I do flip the bird breast up at the end like the recipe calls for. I follow the recipe with a few tweaks...I add lots of fresh sage inside the cavity (thyme is good but sage smells and tastes like Thanksgiving to me) & sprinkle a little no-salt poultry seasoning on the outside. If I have some fresh yams & apples, I'll chunk up a couple inside the bird too with the other veggies. Be sure to use a good wine that you'd drink. The gravy is to die for. I pureed some of the carrots, onions & celery separately (use a hand blender if you have one or make sure the veggies aren't hot if you use the blender....no apple or yams in the gravy puree) to add to the gravy drippings to taste. I use a grease separator for the drippings and make a roux out of a little of the fat from the top off the drippings to start of the gravy. Resting before you carve is really, really important. The juices go back into the meat. Make your gravy and bake your rolls while it's resting. That way you aren't tempted to carve too soon. The carcass, leftover veggies & drippings go straight into the pot for day-after Turkey Barley soup that my has become as much of a family tradition as the turkey dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Melissa1977
Had to downsize recipe since I only had a 12lb turkey. This is the only way I will do turkey from now on. I changed it slightly by stuffing the turky with chopped apples instead of the veggies and put all the veggies in the pan. Also added double the amount of white wine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Gracibabi
I highly recommend this turkey recipe! Made it for Thanksgiving and it's the best one and the easiest that I've used. The brining makes the turkey superbly moist and flavourful. I used aluminium foil to cover it for 2/3 of the cooking time. The vegetables outside the turkey were too oily for my family's taste, and the stuffed vegetables were still very crunchy. I will boil the stuffed vegetables first next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches