My reviews (21)

Best mince pies

A traditional Christmas treat, this mince pie recipe is made easy with the use of best-quality shop-bought filling.
Reviews (21)


25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kim
I don't know what mincemeat pie is supposed to taste like - it isn't a dish that was made in my family. But hubby requested that I try one, & I chose this recipe. I used ready-made pie crust, and followed recipe using rum but also mixing in 1/2 cup each golden raisins & sweetened dried cranberries. For the top pie crust, I used a Linzer cookie cutter to make 1 decorative cutout, brushed with milk, & baked. After 30 minutes, we brushed the top crust with beaten egg & dusted with sanding sugar. Pie was lovely & hubby loved it! Obviously, a good recipe with winning results on my first try. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: carole
When my sister-in-law asked that I bring a mincemeat pie for Thanksgiving I thought..ewwww! I love to cook and bake, so I was determined not to just purchase pre-made pie filling. I saw this recipe, followed it exactly, added some dried cranberries. It was a hit, I'm sure this will be one of my new requests every year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Dawn Wintour
This is a good recipe for dressing up premade filling. Although I would leave out the sugar, it was too sweet in the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Trish
This recipe turned out great. Make sure you do the egg wash on top of the crust. It makes such a difference
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: JT
This is my first mince pie. I used Nonesuch mincemeat (which isn't meatless!) and cut the sugar in half (and could have omitted it). I figured I'd use my deep dish pie pan so I used 4 small apples and the whole 27 ounce jar of mincemeat. After I'd let it chill overnight I discovered that even with the extra filling it was too little for the deeper pan. I used a regular pie pan and it was fine. I'm not sure how it would have worked with only 18 ounces of mince and 2 apples, though! I also added about 1/4 cup of flour, as the filling had a lot of liquid. It went over surprisingly well. A very tasty pie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SANDRAROSE
Absolutely wonderful
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Yorkshirepudding
This was simple and delicious. The best mincemeat pie ever. My family loved it. The recipe made more than I needed for 1 pie so I used the leftovers and made a country tart and topped the mincemeat with sliced canned pear and that was delicious also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Loki1
Great recipe! I had never made mincemeat tarts, but they turned out great for my first time! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: lovestohost
The pie made Gram LTH's 83rd b-day! She said it was just like the mincemeat pie she enjoyed in her childhood. I couldn't bring myself to try it, so I can't speak from my experience, but all of those that ate it said it was great! I followed the recipe to a *t*, as I had no clue what mincemeat pie was supposed to be like! TY for making Gram LTH's bday!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sheba
Actually I don't like mincemeat pie but I made it for my sister and dad who love it. I added a tsp of apple pie spice to it and it went over just great. They said it tastes just like it should. I guess it can depend on the brand of mincemeat you use. I used Crosse & Blackwell.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches