My reviews (154)

Honey and Orange Glazed Roast Ham

I modified this recipe from an old cookbook dated 1890. It's a roast ham recipe that is as delicious today as it was back then!
Reviews (154)


20 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: lindsy
I have made this ham 2 times and I will again on Easter. It is absolutely wonderful. My favorite type of ham to use is a Sugardale spiral sliced ham. Best flavor and always super tender and moist. I read most of the reviews and I see that everyone seems to be having the same problem. No ones glaze seems to thicken. I have always made more glaze than called for. I use about half when I first put the ham in the oven. I put the rest in a large pyrex measuring cup and allow to cool on the counter while the ham cooks. It DOES thicken as it sits and cools. And it WILL glaze the ham if you just continue to baste it about every 20-30 minutes. But overall it is an amazing recipe and I had never made a ham before in my life and my first one was the best!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: M. Nelson
I was looking for something simple and the others were all to much for making a ham for 4. This recipe turned out great and really helpful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: aggiesgirl1945
So delicious! Ever since I found this recipe, it is the only ham recipe that I've used. I make the glaze in the microwave, then pour it over the ham in a roasting bag. I then cook per package instructions. So tender and juicy, and the glaze tastes great as a gravy for mashed potatoes or over a ham sandwich maade from leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Mist
Great recipe - I made this glaze for a 10-pound ham and it was perfect. I scored the ham and added whole cloves for a beautiful presentation. I received great complements and wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Urgakarma
added pineapple slices and maraschino cherries. that w/ the glaze was GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Becky Mader Wisniewski
This was sooo good. The only thing I didn't do was put the cloves in there because of my families personal taste. Will be adding this to my list of "Use OVER AND OVER" recipes!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Alethea
This recipe had everyone wanting seconds. My glaze never thickened that well so I just basted some of it on the ham and it still was full of flavor. I will continue to make this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Josieluvstocook
A very good recipe..I used crushed pineapples along with the juice to make the glaze. It also made the ham look very nice after it is cooked. The glaze didn't get thick but I basted it often and the ham was very moist. I also added about 1/2 tsp. ground cloves to the glaze. Excellent meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: catlover1952
I made this spiral ham for Christmas using a 10 lb. ham. I doubled the glaze although I found out afterward I really didn't need to. I'm sure the glaze as is would have been fabulous but I had to modify it due to ingredients on hand. I put my pineapple slices and cherries on the ham then poured some of the glaze over all before covering tightly with foil and baking at 250 degrees for 2 hours. I then raised the oven temperature to 425 and added more glaze and put the ham back in the oven uncovered for another 10 minutes. It came out moist and delicious. Best tasting ham I've ever made. Note: These are the changes I made in the glaze (which did not thicken like a regular glaze). I used 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves along with the pineapple juice, brown sugar and honey. Instead of juiced oranges, I used 1/2 cup full pulp orange juice (which may have been a little too much...I'll try 1/3 cup next time). Since I still had leftover glaze in my saucepan even after serving it with the sliced ham, I've used the rest as a sweetner for my hot tea and stir it with a cinnamon stick. It makes a great spiced tea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Mrs Brown
I had a 2 lb. turkey ham and wanted a good glaze. this was AMAZING, my husband loved it and he is very hard to please. He said he wouldnt mind eating this all week. Fresh pineapple was on sale so i took a couple of cut up pieces and put them in the blender, everythign else i kept the same i wanted to make sure to have enough glaze. best glaze ever, i was amazed it was so easy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches