My reviews (7,686)

Apple pie

This was my gran's apple pie recipe. I have never seen another apple pie quite like it. It will always be my favourite and has won me several first place prizes in local competitions. I hope this pie becomes one of your favourites as well!
Reviews (7686)


Comment:
20 Dec 2010
ladymidnight said:
Hi, i really want to try it but where is the recipe for the pastry? Thanks
 
Comment:
05 Jan 2011
j_rider said:
Something else. The first time I tried this, the pour in mixture turned gluey and stiff. I couldn't be bothered to figure out how to do it better, so this time I melted the butter and poured it over the apples while they were still in a bowl. I then put in the sugars, flour and cinnamon and mixed to coat before transferring to the pastry case and proceeding with the latticing. It turned out just perfect, plus I got to lick the cinnamon sugar mix out of the bowl .
 
Comment:
20 Sep 2009
CradockQueen said:
Used different ingredients. Oh - and this recipe differs slightly from the one on the American site - DON'T use the suggested Golden Syrup glaze. It is totally unnecessary and will make the pie over sweet. The suger content of the pour in mix is sweet enough and the mix itself ends up coating the lattice strips of pastry on the top that will give the whole pie a nice brown glazed effect anyway. Can't think why the golden syrup addition was added to this otherwise fantastic recipe??
 
20 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: CradockQueen
This truly is a magnificent apple pie recipe. I would never have thought of pouring in the wet mixture AFTER adding the apples to the pre-cooked pie - but it works perfectly. The taste and aroma are truly wonderful. I do suggest the slight tweaks I have added above though, just to give it that spicy edge.
 
Comment:
20 Sep 2009
CradockQueen said:
Used different ingredients. This fantastic recipe can be made truly spectacular by changing the apple to home grown James Grieve variety (the BEST cooker/eater around), and adding just a half teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the pour in mixture.
 
30 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Shazzalou
this is lovely.... Have made it this afternoon, the smell while it was cooking was to die for, apple pie is my hubbies fave so thought id treat him, and this was certainly that, i added half a tsp of cinnamon and half a tsp of nutmeg to the pour in mixture.... Will be adding this to my favourites.. Thankyou
 
09 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Tessgirl
This is my first review of any recipes on this site and I'm glad to report that this recipes was 'spot on'. I confess that I used a ready made shortcrust pasty as I've never been one to do it myself. I included the tweaks recommended by cradockqueen and was glad that I did as it was sweet, spicy and delicious!!
 
02 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Ruthy72
oh my goodness! Found this recipe three weeks ago and have made 6 pies since then for the whole family! Everyone who tries it loves it. I add cinnamon to the apple before pouring on the wet mixure as we love cinnamon. It is a truly delicious apple pie and so easy to do -if you haven't tried it yet then do so you won't be dissapointed!
 
21 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: wakeylass
Well I've just made this apple pie & it was delicious. We couldn't wait for it to set, so it was quite runny but that didn't bother us. I served it with extra thick double cream & it was heaven! I think next time, I will probably use half of the sugar as I did find it a little sweet. This will be my "go to" recipe from now on I reckon! Try it - you won't be disappointed!
 
13 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: BestBaker101
Sounds good but is brown sugar nessecary
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches