My reviews (57)

Creamy Wild Rice and Chicken Chowder

This is a hearty soup with a lot of texture. It is perfect in winter with a roaring fire and some crusty bread. You can really change the taste of the soup depending on what kind of chicken you use. Poached chicken yields a good flavour, whereas roast chicken offers a more complex taste.
Reviews (57)


09 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: mmulrich
This was really good. I used canned and cooked wild rice, so that cut my cooking time down quite a bit. Also, as other readers have said, be careful if you are using chicken broth as some of them have lots of salt. I had used Tone's Chicken Base and it is very salty...so I didn't add any additional salt to the chowder. In the end I ended up using 2 cans of cooked wild rice, 3 chicken breasts (boneless), 5 cups of broth and then the rest of the ingredients listed by Michelle. My family loved it, even my 4 year old. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: cookinmama
Hearty and tasty! Threw this together for a quick lunch for a friend and I. I agree pureeing 2 cups of the soup is key to the consistency. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: KATHYLEEN
I love this chowder. The flavor is great! It has become my favorite soup. I've cooked it as is several times and also left out the carrotts. Either way it is great. Just be sure you leave ample time to cook the rice. Also, have extra chicken broth on hand for leftovers as it tends to get thicker as the days go by and the rice absorbs the liquid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: ARMYGIRL515
I made this recipe for my very picky family and they loved it! It's so simple and great for when the weathers cold. It was better than any soup in any resturaunt and it's great to hear my family say, "I can't believe you made this"
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: idahocook
Good flavor, texture. Love the wild rice. Thanks! The only change I make is substituting lactose free milk for the cream since I am allergic to cream. Makes it not as thick of a chowder as the recipe calls for, but it works for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Juliet Bravo
Contrary to many other reviews I did not need to add any seasoning save for a little pepper and a tiny pinch each of dired thyme and tarragon. The flavours of the vegetables came through beautifully and the wild rice adds an earthy nutty flavour. I'm not sure if the fact that I am Eurpoean (we don't add a lot of seasoning to our food) had an impact or not, but my husbund, who is American (thought he did spend 5 years on Europe and has been eating my food for 4 years) loved it too. I cut down the heavy cream to 1/4 cup and made up the rest with milk. I also replaced most of the cooking fat with olive oil and just a tiny amount of butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: SunFlower
I am by no way a soup person but I LOVED this chowder! I followed the instructions except I used half and half and added one extra cup of (grilled) chicken. It was terrific! I can't wait to have the leftovers...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: dagny21
This smelled wonderful. I did it in my slow cooker and used two baked chicken breasts. I also did not puree. As I said, it smelled wonderful and the veggies and chicken were great, but the liquid part was lacking something. It didn't have much flavor and we ended up adding salt to each serving. I'll work with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: Ruth N.
I am a great fan of various types of soup and was looking forward to trying this recipe. Basically, it was average and I have to admit that I never finished the leftovers that I had planned to have the next evening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CHILIZILLA
This was both an easy recipe to make and also very delicious! Everyone in my family loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches