My reviews (11)

Chestnut, lentil and vegetable stew

This is a nice winter stew or soup that everyone loves in my family. It is so comforting on a cold winter night, or it can be a Christmas main for vegetarians. It tastes wonderful the next day! Experiment with the vegetable combinations!
Reviews (11)


22 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: paulinapet
Delicious! I have done for 4 servings, ommitted chestnuts as couldnt find any, didnt add celery as i dont like them and used only 1 Tbs of oil and all worked very well!
 
03 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: EmilySarahAbbott
Definitely a yummy recipe! We cooked it to use up our left over chestnuts after Christmas and to give out stomachs a result from all of the rich Christmas foods. Delicious, filling and even impressed my teenage boy which was a big achievement for a dish with no meat and lentils in the title! Used red lentils as that's what was in the house and worked very well.
 
11 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: DarkSky38
This is a very nice recipe I cook it for my Auntie each Christmas day dinner as She is vegetarian and use fresh chestnuts not tinned lentils and I like it to even thought I am not Vegetarian.
 
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Iris
This recipe was delicious! I am vegetarian and always looking for yummy hearty main course recipes. This has a really nice flavor and is hearty. I had a hard time finding canned or jarred French Chestnuts after the holidays were over, but then found them at Treasure Island by Rolands in a glass 14 oz jar which was perfect. I think next time I would use a bit less water (maybe half a cup less)since it was a bit too watery. Also, I made basmati rice and served the stew on the rice which was perfect to soak up the juices/liquid of the stew. After dinner, I put the left over rice into the pot with the leftover stew and it heated up great over the next couple of days. I'll definitely make it again and serve it with rice again. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: katie
Very good. I added cumin and curry for a little extra flavour. I also reduced the amount of liquid I used and think if you followed it exactly it would be quite watery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Gemma
Delicious and a nice variation on the winter stews I make. Like another reviewer said, it's wonderful to find hearty meatless meals that taste great! I added chopped potatoes and carrots to the mix. Also, added garlic, two bay leaves, marjoram and some thyme. Next time I will try adding rosemary as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Seattle2Sydney
Based on the recipe without modifications, I gave four stars because it was a good and healthy dish. Everyone seemed to like it and ate it all up. However, it wasn't outstanding. I felt it lacked a bit of interesting flavors. Could have perhaps benefited from some added spices or herbs. As other reviewers also said, it came out a bit watery so we had it as a soup rather than a stew, which was fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: janedent
I give my version 5 stars - I did a bit of tweaking - see below. This stew initially came out a bit watery and unappetising and reminded me of my attempts at cooking as a student in the 70s. So I cooked it in the oven at a low temp for another couple of hours ie total of 3 - 4 hours. Then I used a potato masher at the end to mash things up slightly and mingle flavours. I also added fresh herbs (thyme and sage, because I had them in the garden) and a glass of red wine before putting it in the oven. Next time I'll probably leave out or reduce the water. So my tweaked version was more de luxe and took longer to cook. It was gorgeous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: TMAYDER
I was not expecting this to be as good as it was! I do not usually like stews so much but I was going back for seconds like everybody else! I couldn't find canned brown lentils and used dried. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Aida E
This dish got rave reviews. I searched five stores looking for the French chestnuts. Was only able to get one jar. I was informed that is a holiday purchase. So I added mushrooms to the stew. We enjoyed it and will make it again. Your picture appears to have water chestnuts instead of French chestnuts. There is a big difference in texture, flavor and price.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches