My reviews (25)

Hamantaschen for Purim

A Jewish staple at Purim, these biscuits are good any time.
Reviews (25)


03 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa Ragucci
This is a great hamantashen recipe! I suggest rolling out the dough very thin, as they expand when they bake. Also, leave only a very small opening when pinching them closed because they open as they bake. I didn't do this for the first few and they came out almost flat (still yummy though).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Brree
The taste of the dough is great. I cooled it in the frige for about an hour. I followed the instructions and used 1 tablespoon preserves: apricot for some, strawberry for others. The first batch came out awful because 1 tablespoon of preserves is too much, it boiled and ran out. I tried different amounts and settled on 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon. the kids in my daughter's class loved them and asked for seconds. I will make these again and again with my kids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: SHA112
I have tried many recipes for this cookie. This is the best I have had. I recommend making them 2-3 days before serving. I made them with poppy seed filling. Everyone loved them. Sharon
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: tami
I was looking for a traditional hamentashen recipe and this was pretty close. the dough worked very well, and tasted very good . I did refrigerate it overnight which I think really helps , I dont think a few hours would do the trick. I filled mine with mini chocolate chips and strawberry jam . they were great! will make these again next year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: sunshinedaydream
I just made these and they came out great. The dough was very easy to work with, I needed very little flour when rolling it out. I cut the baking time to 15 minutes. I also used apricot, strawberry and raspberry jams instead of apple pie filling. Huge hit. I will be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: KATIE JONES
Good, adults love them, but kids not so much. If anyone's interested, go to LauHilLau Cookies, for the best cookie you ever tasted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Jess51725
I made the dough exactly as written in the recipe, and think it definitely suffers from too much flour. This is probably what caused other reviewers issues with the dough being crumbly and cracking, and also might be why the cookies flatten while they cook. I added a bit of water to the dough as I was rolling it out, but it was a pain to do. In the future I would probably try to cut the flour down to 5 cups and see if that works better. The dough is delicious though, and with a few modifications I bet these cookies would be spectacular.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kerri
These came out wonderful and were so delicious. They tasted like the ones I remember eating from a bakery when I was a kid. I used mashed baked apples for the filling and it was so tasty. I will be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Sam I Am
excellent recipe! After an unsuccessful try to make hamantashen that hold their triangular shape, I found this recipe, and it worked perfectly. I only baked the cookies for 13-15 minutes; it seemed long enough. Also, I used more traditional jelly fillings instead of the apple pie filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Tamara
I just made these for my Mishloach Manot (gifts for Purim) and they came out wonderfuly! The pastry was crispy and delicious. I added a cheese filling that I made up, which actulaay went very well. You just need to be careful to pinch them closed properly so they don't come open.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches