My reviews (34)

Beer Batter Waffles

These waffles are light and delicious. The beer replaces yeast and the honey gives them a nice crunch. My family love them.
Reviews (34)


27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: MommyofRedHeads
Surprisingly good! The recipe was so interesting I had to try it. I used two cups all purpose flour so I added 1 Tb baking powder and 1 tsp salt to make it self rising. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly. I used miller light since it's the cheapest stuff we have on hand. They turned out nicely golden and lightly crisp, we loved it. Especially since our George Forman waffle grill has a hard time cooking waffles well. Very easy recipe and will try it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: mllejessica
By far the best waffles I have ever made. Perfect crunch. These waffles have become our new Saturday morning tradition. I used sour cream instead of milk to make them extra crispy and it was great! This recipe is fool proof! This recipe works best with a high quality iron.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2010
After making these several times, I recommend using Miller High Life beer. It is super bubbly so the waffles are very fluffy and the beer flavor completely disappears. I tried using a honey weiss, a heavy amber bock and a lite beer. Also, a very small amount of cinnamon and these are better than any waffles my family and I have ever had!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Rolling Alaskans
I did the + 1Tbsp Baking Powder & + 1tsp salt to make my all purpose flour self rising. This recipe results in a super light waffle. When mixing, I stirred by hand and I was very careful to not over stir so they aren't tough. You can definitely smell the beer when you're cooking it, but eating it you do not taste the beer. I used a regular beer the first go around and after that cheap beer purchased for the recipe, always warm beer though, I think that helps with it being fluffy. Super yum! Edit- Try stirring in chopped ham and shredded cheese and serving with salsa, amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Michelle Will
Did not like these at all. The batter was easy to make, but was very thin and needed to use almost 1 1/2 cups of batter in my waffle iron (busquick batter only uses 1/4 cup). I used Labatt Blue Light beer and the waffles came out very bitter and tasteless despite adding an additional tablespoon of honey to the batter. I could not get the waffles to crisp at all. I had higher hopes for this recipe, but sadly I will not make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: momof3
These were so light and fluffy with a delicately crunchy outside! We loved them! I didn't have butter on hand, so I used canola oil. I also increased the honey to about 1 and 1/2 TBS. They were delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Katie K
I made these last night using Shiner Ruby Redbird, which is a grapefruit and ginger beer from here in Texas, and they've definitely become my go to insert-beverage-here waffles. Using a brand new waffle maker of unexplored abilities, the outsides were nice and crisp and the insides were soft and fluffy. I got ten 4 x 4 Belgian style waffles using slightly more than 1/4 cup per waffle. Textures inside and out were perfect - this is without beating the egg whites, and halving the butter. I think anything Belgian/white/wheat/lighter/not things college kids drink would be tasty in this waffle. You could definitely smell the beer as they were cooking, and the flavor came through a bit, but not so much as to be overwhelming.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2010
Reviewed by: Leslie Campbell
These were excellent and easy. Just as good as the recipe that you do overnight that comes with the wafflemaker!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: funnyshoes1
Deliciously flavorable! Agreed that these aren't so crunchy, but I'll work on that. Only change I made was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon. I used Straub Beer, a small brewery in St. Mary's, PA, which uses natural ingredients and no preservatives. It is a lightish beer. I didn't have any syrup on hand, so I decided to work with what I had on hand that one collects to be creative with--now was the time. I heated some peach-rhubarb jam in the microwave and threw some pomegranate seeds on top. Fab!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: JulieD
Made these as directed. Mine were not crisp but very limp. There was a slight aftertaste. I added more honey and it improved the flavor a bit. I won't make these again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches