My reviews (84)

Low-fat carrot cake

Don't be afraid to indulge with this low-fat recipe that still tastes great. It's really handy to make this recipe in a muffin or bun tin. That way, you can freeze them individually.
Reviews (84)


08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Seward
This cake was DISGUSTING. The person who submitted the recipe must be having a laugh! I followed it to the letter, and thought when I was putting the mix into the baking tin that it was very runny - in fact it looked more like batter than cake mix. I think that the addition of the pineapple and its juice was a mistake, as it made the mix extremely sloppy. The recipe says 35-40 mins to cook - after more than an hour I gave up and removed the gooey mess from the oven. There was no way it was ever going to be cake, not even moist cake. It just refused to cook. I did taste it, though, and the flavour that I noticed most was cloves, not carrot.
 
20 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: irene33
i made this cake today yes the mixture did seem a bit runny but i did make individual ones and a small loaf one and they all turned out good
 
19 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: elizt89
Omitted the walnuts, this did taste surprisingly good and was a great hot with the kids, and it's fairly easy to make too. However the mixture is very runny, I had to add a bit more flour and it's a nightmare to get out of the tin! About a third of the cake ended up stuck round the sides and bottom
 
06 May 2006
Reviewed by: Neri
This cake was absolutely YUMMY! The only modifications I used were that I used honey instead of sugar which made for a bit of a stickier cake, but so so good! Remember only half the amount of honey to what the recipe asks for for sugar. I also used 3/4 cup of applesauce and about 1 TBS of oil to make the texture less 'chewy' and used a honey cream cheese frosting on top (8 ounces of cream cheese, 1/3 cup of honey and 1T of vanilla).....DELISH! Will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: BAKERBEE16
This is now my permanent carrot cake recipe.I love carrot cake but hardly ever made it because it was so high in fat with all that oil.Now I can "have my cake and eat it too";and not feel guilty.My dad absolutely loved it;he said it was even better than the Costco carrot cake.(which is amazing because in our house you can't get better than Costco carrot cake.(up until now that is)I will definately be making this again and again;My family asked for seconds and thirds and with a cream cheese icing and sprinkles it makes a great birthday cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: THESU
This is a great low fat recipe, and the cake is very moist. It is so healthy with the carrots and nuts, too. However, I wouldn't consider this cake a real dessert because it has a chewy, gummy texture, which is characteristic of recipes that substitute fat with applesauce. Next time I will substitute 2 tbsp of oil for the apple sauce. I think you need some fat in this recipe, and 2 tbsp is still low-fat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: thain
I have tried this recipe twice, the first time I followed it to the letter… shared it with friends and they all enjoyed it. I found it to be to moist so the second round I added another ½ cup of flour and doubled up on all the spices. I found that my modification suites my taste buds better then the original receipt…. excellent ether way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: NYLINDA
For all you Weight Watcher people, this is a keeper. I was amazed at how good this cake turned out. I only made half a cake to try it out before I made a full one to take to work for my WW co-workers. I can't wait to share it with them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: ROBIN CASEY
My whole family liked the carrot cake. Based on other comments made I cut down on the pineapple juice and it came out fine. We added cream cheese frosting and it was a big hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: AggieInTheKitchen
This cake was amazing. I made it in a glass baking dish and left it in about ten minutes longer than required--it was not soggy at all. It was perfectly moist and delicious. If you don't like it too sweet, I'd reduce the sugar a bit--my dad said it was almost too sweet for him. Used a cream cheese frosting--best carrot cake I've had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches