My reviews (154)

Lemon crisps

Great fresh lemon taste in a chewy little biscuit with a nice crisp brown edge. If you don't have the almonds, you can substitute 4 tablespoons additional sugar instead.
Reviews (154)


18 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: KatWebb
Lovely recipe, easy to make and very tasty
 
26 May 2014
Reviewed by: pollyarty
Yummy :-) Added half a teaspoon of ground coriander.
 
08 May 2002
Reviewed by: CLAIREELIZABETH
I used the extra sugar instead of the almonds. I also substituted 3 tablespoons of lemon juice for the lemon zest. The cookies turned out great! Not too lemony and very dainty. Cool for at least 2 or 3 minutes before removing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: MyVintageMommy
These were great, I added 3 tablespoons of fresh squeezed lemon juice to the dough and dipped the balls in juice then sugar to enhance the lemon flavor. I also dusted with powerdered sugar to make it more like a lemon bar cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: DANCERDEDE
I think I just found my new favorite cookie! I doubled the recipe and used one whole lemon (juice and zest without measuring). It came out tasting deliciously light and fluffy with just enough lemon flavor. I'm definitely making this one again, thanx Jennifer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2006
This is the perfect lemon cookie - everything the previous reviewers promised: crunchy and chewy. The only thing I'll do differently next time is double the recipe. I didn't notice until after I had mixed the batter that it is on the small side, so I found myself rationing the cookies instead of having plenty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Gabby
These were alright. They had a wonderful texture. I added extra lemon juice to try to get a much lemon flavor possible. But when they came out, they sorta tasted like air,.... They had no lemon flavor what so ever to me. However my mom said she could taste the lemon. I made a lemon glaze and put over the cookies and they were AMAZING!!! So if they were more lemony, or you already had the glaze with them, they would certainly be 5 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: wct38
I've made these cookies exactly as per recipe and they were really nice. Then one day I thought why not, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup chopped cranberries, 1 tsp lime juice, upped the baking powder to 1 tsp and baking soda to 1/2 tsp. I baked them in tiny paper cups for 17 mins. They tasted very very good. To pass the acid test, I made these lemony cupcakes for tea with a bunch of discerning ladies but this time I topped them with cream cheese and a frosted cranberry which I also got from AllRecipes. Those baby cupcakes looked so pretty! My goodness, the ladies were fighting over the last few cakes. But they were all my good friends so we had a really good time with me handing out the recipe like favours!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
Delightful cookies. Crisp and chewy as promised with wonderful lemon flavor. Best eaten quickly and not stored - I found they lost their crispness quite quickly and went very soft.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Bec
I gave this 4 stars as is; however, I have made some changes that I think solves the problem many reviewers have mentioned about the cookie not being lemony enough. Instead of adding lemon juice, I used 2-1/2 tablespoons of frozen lemonade concentrate and I think it is lemony enough. I also used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract instead of the vanilla extract and I added a couple more tablespoons of flour. Then I chilled my dough for about 45 minutes before baking. If you want the cookies to be fancy looking, you can roll the dough into 1 inch balls; then flatten the balls to about 1/4 inch thick using the bottom of a glass that has been moistened and dipped in granulated sugar. Lastly, used almond slices that are not broken and arrange three almond slices like spokes on a wheel and press them in slightly. This makes them look elegant. Oh, and I also chilled the cookies for about 10 minutes right before putting them in the oven. That part may not be necessary, but I thought it would keep them from flattening out too much. I only baked mine for 8 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches