My reviews (51)

Linguine with anchovies and garlic

Need a quick mid-week supper fix? This is a simple, flavourful dish literally prepared in minutes if you use fresh pasta. It's a typical Christmas eve dish in many parts of Europe. The chopped up anchovies break down into the sauce.
Reviews (51)


13 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Cyn Coriell
This was absolutly amazing. Everyone needs to try this delicious recipe. I did doctor it up some by adding chopped green onions, extra garlic, chopped celery, and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. When the dish was done I threw the pasta right into the anchovy skillet along with a chopped tomato, two more chopped green onion, and a handful of chopped parsley--WOW!!! I'm sure without the additions it's still good, but I recommend adding your own personal touch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: NEVENMRGAN
I'm am anchovy fan and this is THE way to do anchovies. I'm not a fan of linguini, though, so I normally make this with spaghetti. A few tips: I don't add any water. I use more olive oil, though. You don't really need to simmer anchovies, just heat them through. Don't let them fall apart completely, you want some fillet pieces in there. This recipe relies on quality ingredients, so get the GOOD anchovies and oil. ALWAYS Use fresh parsley. I add it when I toss the pasta with the sauce, I don't cook it. I also add a lot of fresh black pepper. There's also no need for parmesan, it would just make this too salty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: LFERONTI
This is a christmas eve dish in our familty. It is a part of the feast of seven fishes. We let the oil cook for hours with the anchovies and garlic in it. It gives it great flavor. When we do the anchovies they are chopped up very small and then they boil down in the oil so that those who are not fond of looking at the anchovies don't see them. Very good recipe..and the longer it simmers the better it is!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: TOKYO KAREN
A nice, tasty dish that is easy to throw together with things already in your cupboard. I added four cloves of minced garlic as well as some mushrooms for some extra punch. Although this strays far from the original recipe, I steamed up some spinach and mushrooms and mixed it in as well to add some vitamins and minerals. Served with some garlic bread, this was delicious! If you don't have canned anchovies on hand, you can substitute anchovy paste (1/2 teaspoon per anchovy fillet) -- I used two tablespoonsful and it turned out very nicely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: CWYC
Great recipe for a fast and satisfying meal. I used chicken broth instead of water which provided an extra layer of flavour. Yum. Would make it again for a quick and hearty week night dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: lwilson11
So good! When I make this, I double the garlic (7 or 8 cloves) and just use one can of anchovies. I also add red pepper flakes. Its an awesome dish, but pretty rich. I usually serve it with a salad or as a side dish to chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MSPC123
This did not taste like I expected it to. I thought it would be salty but it wasn't. My husband and daughter loved it. I added tomatoes, mushrooms, green pepper, and garlic powder. This was so easy to make but next time I will use can clams instead of anchovies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: XTAPOLAPOCET
Very good recipe! If you enjoy traditional, authentic Italian cuisine, you will enjoy this recipe. The only modification I made to the recipe is as follows: - I substituted 3 (2.0 oz.) cans of Anchovy Filets for 1 (2.0 oz.) can Anchovy Filets, chopped. The reason for the substitution: My husband is Italian and the recipe matches the same method utilized by his Mother (from Italy), with the exception of the quantity of anchovies. In her preperation, she uses one can of anchovy filets in olive oil and it has always produced a mild fish flavor as opposed to the overpowering anchovy flavor, by using three. Top with freshly grated Italian cheese (of your choice) and enjoy! =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: EMT
My fiance and I estimated that you would likely pay $16-20 for a plate like this in a restaurant in town!! And it was soooooo easy! Really delicious with some chopped tomatoes and brocoli in it and feta cheese on top. Thanks for the truly amazing recipe! Next time, I think I'll add shrimp or mussels to it and make a $25 recipe, or more!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SWOOZE71
I made this for the first time last night. I added 2 extra cloves of sliced garlic, and a hefty tablespoon of capers... It was fantastic! Fast, easy, and oh so tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches