My reviews (32)

Wilted cabbage salad with bacon

This is also called a French cabbage salad. It is a wonderful way to serve cabbage. Skip the garlic, use cider vinegar, and it becomes a German cabbage salad. Add some soured cream and it becomes a Danish cabbage salad.
Reviews (32)


01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: zernike
For what this is, I gave it five stars. It's not something you'll see everywhere, and it's easy (if you use a processor for shredding the cabbage) and surprisingly delicious. We ate this with fresh grilled brats, pickled eggs, beer, and German potato pancakes (from this site). Since the bacon is crumbled, I used bacon end pieces, which are considerably cheaper than regular bacon. I also used white wine vinegar because that's what I had. With the high fat content of everything on the menu, smaller portions came naturally, were enjoyed and satisfying. For something unusual for your guests, this one is a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Between baking, shopping, working, additional Christmas decorating and spending more time than I should trying to get our cat "Nikky" OUT of our Christmas tree, I haven't spent a whole lot of time on dinner this week. This great recipe was a good starter for our soup. I don't like tarragon, so I used cider vinegar instead. Thanks Barrett and happy holidays to all!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: LynnInHK
I made this for a freind's parents who are Chinese. I was worrying that the vinegar flavor would be too strong, but they liked it. So I am giving it a five for pleasing both the western-inclined and eastern-inclined palate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2010
My Family has made this for years...This is a old Pennslyvania Dutch Recipe... Fry bacon and save the grease...set bacon aside..we boil red potatato's, cool them down, slice, fry in bacon grease and onions.....have the cabbage cut up into bite size pieces...fry in bacon grease and steam with water with lid on...add potatoe's and cut up bacon...when wilted to your liking serve ..The only thing I hate is the smell it leaves in your kitchen...so I fry it on my patio...My whole family LOVES IT...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ANNETHERESA
This is a great side dish for a fall supper. I served it with corned beef and boiled potatoes with cracked pepper. It was a good compliment to the meat and starch. I think this is a great, easy salad to make!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: WOODKITTEN
WELL NOW, I HAVE BEEN EATING THIS FOR AT LEAST 50 YEARS OR SO. SAUTEED ONIONS GO WITH THIS RECIPE. VINEGAR WAS NOT A ROUTINE STAPLE BUT IS GOOD IN IT. AND I AGREE WITH THE OPTIONAL ADDITIONS. SO GLAD TO SEE THIS IN PRINT. I HAD TOTALLY FORGOTTEN THE RECIPE......(UMMMMMMMY FOR THE TUMMY). BUT YEARS AGO IT HAD THE UNGLAMEROUS NAME OF JUST PLAIN OLD 'FRIED CABBAGE". GREEN ONIONS ARE GREAT WITH THIS TOO.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Mallow1
This would be good as a side dish. Unfortunately, I tried to use it as a main dish, and the vinegar cabbage taste was too strong for that use, and I gave my family tummy aches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mermaid
Great recipe. I've been making a similar one for 45 years. I leave out the garlic because I can't have it. Wonderful side dish. Versatile. Try the other versions with the sour cream, for instance. My family never cared for cabbage, but they enjoyed this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: IPODKATIE
i dont want to lose weight that bad. thanks anyway!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
When I have a head of cabbage in the house I tend to try several different recipes to try from this website. I love wilted cabbage and bacon but have only had it with a dash of sugar. That being said this had a stronger vinegar taste than I would've like. It did balance out the meal with grilled kielbasa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches