My reviews (150)

Pastitsio

This is sort of like a Greek lasagne, topped with a delectable white sauce. This pastitsio recipe makes a lot and is just incredible. Everyone loves this dish and it is worth the effort.
Reviews (150)


09 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: nedg
We all love this! So glad i found it. I was actually looking up the recipe from the hairy bikers and tried this instead, but after buying the book I think the one they did is far too complicated and faffy, this is so much better!
 
31 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: heardthemessage
A nice alternative to lasagne, economic and tasty, thanks for sharing x
 
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: lucaduca
fab have made this a few times now, everybody loves it.
 
Comment:
19 Jan 2013
heatheroula said:
I haven't actually made this recipe yet, but wonder why the proper pastitsio pasta isn't used ? It's quite widely available now - even Tesco sells it.
 
06 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Fordy73
We all loved this. Kids couldn't get enough of it. Super recipe. I used a tin of tomatoes in place of the vegetable stock and half the tomato puree.
 
08 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: jsdeeley
Thought this sounded quite interesting with beaten eggs in both the meat sauce and the white sauce, and mixing some of the white sauce into the meat mixture before baking. I was a little worried the meat sauce might turn out dry as there were no tomatoes in it, only purée, but it wasn't at all. Served it as part of a buffet supper - it received loads of compliments.
 
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Demmy
Oh my goodness! I've broken my low carbs rule for this dish! Yummy, yummy, yum yum. Adding the egg to the white sauce and the pasta was a new tip for me and it made all the difference. Creamy and lovely. I left out the red wine though, and added a bit of chilli.
 
Comment:
01 Dec 2012
venusdemilos said:
To Eureka! I found it! Thank you so much. I am a UK citizen living in Greece and therefore tried many variations of this Greek Classic. Yours is by far the best and the one I will be sticking with. Delicious! x x
 
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: twilkerson
This is a nice recipe, but you'll need a 1/2 cup of parmasean cheese instead of the 1/4 c listed (1/4 c for the ziti mixture and another 1/4 c on top). When assembling the dish, distribute 1/2 the cream sauce over the pasta on the bottom before adding the layer of meat sauce (then add the rest of the pasta and cover with the rest of the cream sauce). I find that at least a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in the meat sauce gives the dish a more traditional flavor, although in reviews of other versions on this site suggest it is challenging to those having it for the first time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Karena
This is an authentic and wonderful recipe, and I have been making it for years. It is out of Tess Mallos’s The Complete Middle Eastern Cookbook. A really wonderful Middle Eastern Cookbook. At the end of this recipe in the last part of the instructions she has, “Sprinkle remaining cheese on top” but she left the amount out. It is 1/2 cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches