My reviews (33)

Treacle ginger cake

Using fresh, ground and crystallised ginger gives this ginger cake an extra rich flavour.
Reviews (33)


23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: MRSHALLIWELL
I made this cake today and it just didnt cook through not even after an additional 20 mins in oven
 
17 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Bobo1
In the oven now ....
 
10 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Meg Natural
So so so good! The candied ginger is what did it for me. If you can't find it, don't worry! It's very easy (and cheap) to make. Here's what I did: bring 1 1/3C sugar and 1C water to a boil. Add 1C chopped, peeled ginger and simmer for 20 minutes. Drain, dry and sprinkle with sugar. It's quite strong when eated alone but when baked into this bread, it just adds a super rich flavor and a fun chewy texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: KATHRYN BRIDGE
This is a delicious, moist, dark, rich molasses- flavorful gingerbread cake that is not too sweet. I use butter instead of oil. On occasion applesauce is added instead of the juice due to what I have on hand. My family and friends have enjoyed this cake many times. My family doesn't care for crystallized ginger so don't use it. Great with Cool Whip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: camille
WATCH OUT!! This is Addictive!!! I baked it as muffins for the band members and they all LOVED it! I also did not include the crystalized ginger. I used 1 1/2 cup flour & 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and added 5 Tbsp. melted butter for more moisture. I am making more tomorrow because its all gone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: SAVEDGRRL
This has got to be the absolute BEST recipe for gingerbread I have ever tasted. I can't stop making it...it's addicting! I don't use the crystallized ginger because I cannot seem to find it, however it is great with homemade cream cheese frosting on top and fridgerated. This beats STARBUCKS' a million to one!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Koko
Yummmmm! This ginger bread is exactly what I was looking for.. I used half WW half AP flour, half brown half white sugar, applesause instead of juice, and reduced the molasses by about 1/3. I also didn't have fresh ginger so I doubled the ground ginger, and I had to sub nutmeg for the cloves and it was fine. I only baked it for 30 mins, then I turned the oven off and left it to cool inside. Served it warm with vanilla ice cream and it was to die for! Love it, thank you for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: JAMES528
This is an excellent recipe, reminiscent of the one I used to make in a wholesale bakery. I couldn't find crystallized ginger, so I had to omit it. And I only used 1/2 cup molasses instead of the full cup. It was perfect! The only thing I'd change next time is baking it for 45-50 minutes, as mine is slightly overbaked. It's still a keeper though -- thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: SonFlower
My husband is a very picky eater and he loved it! I baked it in small loaves for him to take to work, the cook time was reduced this way to about 35 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: TheBritishBaker
I just love this recipe. It tastes like a luxury version of the Mcvities Jamaica Ginger cake that I remember from home!!! I Used the recipe to make 2 x 1 lb loaves, which I baked for 45 minutes. I used Sorghum Mill, muddy pond Molasses from Tennessee (given to me by a friend on a visit there earlier in the year). I just love the strong ginger taste to this bread, the slightly crunchy crust and the aroma while cooking was just heavenly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches