My reviews (59)

Ham and wild rice quiche

This is a nice change from ordinary quiche. Full of ham, wild rice, mushrooms, red peppers and flavoured with a touch of Dijon mustard. Great way to use up any leftover Christmas ham.
Reviews (59)


12 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Paul Wohler
It was pretty good actually. I liked the wild rice in there. My wife thought it might have been a little too much cheese, but I thought it was good that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Yvonne
Great recipe. I added some Italian seasoning and made a few substitutions to use what I had on hand, like a cheddar blend instead of Swiss cheese and stone ground mustard instead of Dijon mustard.. I liked the texture that the wild rice added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Nov 2018
Reviewed by: Delia Basa
It was delicious. My girls don't like mushrooms so I made theirs with lightly steamed broccoli. I used fresh mushrooms and steamed them first to avoid the added liquid when baking. I also omitted 1/2 cup of sour cream to reduce the calories and added 1 additional egg. The rice was a great touch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: 1Cent
Made as recipe was written. Excellent flavor and the whole family loved it!! Definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: choc8all
My family loves this one! It is so easy to add things to, or substitute things for what you do not have on hand. I have made it many times and it always comes out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: dmgrinde
I thought this was a very good recipe. Be sure to follow the directions on your wild rice container. I followed the recipe and I burnt my first batch of wild rice. I followed the directions on the bag and it turned out good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: rbytsdy76
I did make some changes-- added more onion, some radish sprouts that needed using, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also mixed all the cheese into the egg mixture (and added an extra egg). Probably should've put some of that cheese as crust lining-- got a bit soggy. Had to bake an extra 10 min to firm up filling. Good flavors though-- hint of the mustard. Agree with another reviewer that I don't see what the rice adds (not a fan actually).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Cquinones70
Great recipe! Made exactly as instructed. Just as good reheated next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2017
Reviewed by: S.M. Moffitt
This is one of the best quiche recipes I have ever made/had. It has been met with rave reviews by everyone I've served it to. The only changes I made were to sautée fresh mushrooms, (vs. using canned muchsrooms), leave out the salt (ham is salty enough on its own), lessen the eggs by one and decrease the sour cream to 3/4 of a cup as it will overflow with the quantities as called for and finally to use a deep dish pie crust. Lundberg Wild Rice (available at Costco) is the perfect rice to use. Thanks, Sue S...This one is a keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: GoofyGayle
Used shredded cheddar instead. I do not believe this recipe calls for enough water for cooking the rice as it was dry in only 20 minutes. I would not add any salt (if I ever make this again) as there is already enough salt in the ham. Also, for some reason I had to bake it longer because the filling did not want to firm up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches