My reviews (3,678)

Cream cheese frosting

This is a wonderfully creamy cream cheese frosting that goes well with pumpkin cake, carrot cake, chocolate cake, banana cake and more. If you want chocolate frosting, add 4 to 8 tablespoons of best quality cocoa powder, according to how rich you want it.
Reviews (3678)


18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: anderssonkaren
Sorry, but if were possible to give 0 stars I would. I made this according to the recipe but it was extremely runny. The addition of more icing sugar didn't help, and made it become more like normal icing. Personally I think the proportion of moist ingredients to dry was far too high. As I had no cream cheese left, I had to resort back to a trusted butter icing recipe (Which had more icing sugar than butter, and was perfect!)
 
08 May 2011
Reviewed by: alfiecat
Have just made this recipe and it is the first that didn't go runny. I recommend using full fat cream cheese and do not over mix. Really lovely recipe - thank you!
 
30 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Cherrylover78
I changed the standard cream cheese for Pilly with cadburys choclate in it and it was amazing. Made enough to sandwich a sponge cake and cover it.
 
27 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: OxonABM
To the person who said it was too runny: the recipe should read 'refrigerate BEFORE use'. You have to soften it to get it to blend, but it will stay very runny unless you chill it first. Make it the day before or before you bake the cake, then refrigerate. Comes out much more usable.
 
08 May 2012
Reviewed by: secrets
..i just wish you would print in lbs and ounces as well as g. I am English and still prefer the British way. Yes this recipe is very good.
 
16 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: dmgray
Delicious frosting! first time I've made it and it came out perfect... well eventually. I made a little error in that I didn't soften the butter first and ended up sieving the whole mixture to remove the butter lumps doh! but turned out great in the end. Thanks for sharing.
 
09 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: pianoyvette
This tasted superb. I'm actually intolerant to dairy, so substituted soya cream cheese and soya margarine for the cream cheese and butter respectively. It was slightly on the runny side so next time I would use more cream cheese. I added some lemon juice and then put some lemon zest on top to decorate just to add that tangy twist. It went down a storm in my house on top of banana cupcakes.
 
17 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: julesjules14
The best cream cheese frosting i have ever made!!! Went down a treat with all the family, i used it as a topping for my Carrot cake... x x x
 
31 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Tara500
I would say this frosting is only suitable for carrot cake. I made it and used it for a chocolate sponge and whilst it was not awful, it didn't taste great as an accompaniment to a chocolate sponge. I made half the batch as plain and half the batch with added cocoa and I would give the same verdict for both.
 
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: cupcake02
Really lovely icing perfect for my carrot cake
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches