My reviews (256)

Pumpkin loaf cake

This is a lower calorie tea cake that does not compromise on flavour. Buttermilk guarantees it will turn out moist. Great for an afternoon snack.
Reviews (256)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Maggie said:
Used different ingredients. Yummy! I tried this recipe to use up some extra fresh pumpkin puree, and it turned out great! I added sliced almonds to the first batch and chopped pecans to the second. Also, I used 1/2 tsp. cloves and 1/2 tsp. ginger in the first batch to replace the nutmeg (still used cinnamon). I also added 1 tsp. vanilla to the second batch. Both batches were great! Pumpkin doesn't have much flavour, so it's all in the spices!
 
19 May 2011
Reviewed by: twisty
I roasted butternut squash to use and iced with a cream cheese frosting flavoured with a bit of nutmeg. A definite winner.
 
23 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Shanael
Made this twice already, and I love it! I made a few slight changes: I added crushed walnuts to give it some crunchiness, and used two tablespoons of vegetable oil instead of butter, to make it a little lighter.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa-Michelle Boucher
This is fantastic pumpkin bread. I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the pumpkin, adjusting the cooking time accordingly. I also used freshly baked pumpkin instead of tinned. (Slice wedges and bake for at least an hour or until soft. Puree with a hand mixer) This freezes well in individual portions and reheats well.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KTHOMASXYZ
This was a great lower-calorie bread - I was very impressed. I did add about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, which made for a nice addition. I had no complaints about the lack of pumpkin taste - let's face it, pumpkin by itself just doesn't have that strong of a taste.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CHEYENNIGANS
Completely moist and delicious. It also travels well and garners heaps of compliments.
 
Comment:
05 May 2012
Haysmith922 said:
I think I would be aloud to make that with a little help from mum
 
19 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: ceebass
I'm not really a big fan of pumpkin but had a big chunk to use up. It came out moist and my husband really enjoyed it, so thunbs up! What I did different: I used wholewheat flour and unrefined sugar (I never cook with refined ingredients) and it worked really well. Halved the recipe to make a smaller loaf but forgot to halve the egg! Still worked out okay.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DIXIEEDARLIN
This is a very moist light quick bread. It was very easy to make and the family just loved it. I think next time I might add some chopped nuts and/or sultanas for just a little more flavour and texture. This is great for afternoon snacks and school dinners.
 
16 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Frane
Gorgeous moist cake, I did not have buttermilk, so added 1 TBSPN lemon to normal milk and left to sit for 5 minutes before adding to the cake mix, and melted the butter to make it easy to measure. My oven needed 1 hour and 10 mins to cook through Yummy
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches