My reviews (59)

Basic Fruit Smoothie

This is a great smoothie consisting of fruit, fruit juice and ice. I like to use whatever fresh fruits are in season. Any kind of berry, mangos, papayas, kiwi fruit - all make a great smoothie. Experiment with your favourites!
Reviews (59)


11 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: annettemp
Yummy and so simple to make
 
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
We loved this!! I used half a can of pineapple chunks and its juice instead of peaches and just plain orange juice instead of the mango-orange juice(didn't have any of either ingrediant on hand). Will make many mornings to come. And this is very "basic," you can add/subtract fruits you prefer or have around the house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ISSIS
We enjoyed trying your basic smoothie recipe in different ways. The first time we made it with tropical fruits, papaya, mango, canned and orange juice. Other times we just used what we had around the house...which is usually ripe bananas and strawberries, our family likes to add a couple of teaspoons of vanilla and we sprinkle it with a bit of cinnamon powder just to give it an extra kick. Another possibility is making it with milk instead of water, this is great when you do not have time to have a sit-down meal. Good basic recipe. Thank you Janelle!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: COOKINGNEWBIE
Only O.K. It just tasted like a lot of fruit blended together. Not very smooth, not very sweet. Will look for another smoothie recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: LHALLOW
I've been making them with blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, a banana and apple juice and it is stiff competition for my favorite juice bars 'banana berry' flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ARKBUCKS
Delicious recipe! We scaled it down to 2 servings and used frozen strawberries & bananas, orange juice, and a 4oz can of peaches in heavy syrup. We left out the ice. We will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Steve Miller
This recipe is a nice starting point... it's got a good balance between ice, fruit, and juice. I used 1 peach, 1/2 quart of strawberries, 1 small banana, 1/2 cup of orange pineapple juice, and a handful of ice. It turned out well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JAZZY-GIRL
Enjoy how adaptable this recipe is to almost any fruit combination. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Darbie Esther
As the name states, it's a BASIC recipe. I hate seeing people lower a recipe's rating because they don't know how to cook. This recipe is perfect as a starting point to alter to one's tastes. Try different fruits, different juices, different amounts of everything to your taste. Another alternative is to add vanilla flavored soy milk for a hint of vanilla or cream. But remember, if you alter a recipe too much, don't blame the recipe, blame the cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: MCARTHUR
This was a great recipe. Thanks for submitting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches