My reviews (314)

Crisp Lemon and Sugar Biscuits

These are delightful lemon flavoured biscuits. They are crisp on the edges and deliciously soft on the inside. These won't last long in your house. Feel free to make bigger biscuits if you desire.
Reviews (314)


12 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: chevylong
My hubby loves anything with lemon in it so I thought I'd try these out! Firstly this recipe is so easy to make, one of the easiest mixtures I've made! I tweaked the recipe only a little. As my other half loves lemon he asked me to add an extra half a teaspoon of lemon extract to the mixture. They turned out really well, made them an extra zingy! Secondly I left the biscuits in for an extra minute or so as they were very sloppy. Apart from that they were very yummy
 
Comment:
12 Feb 2011
chevylong said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added an extra half a teaspoon of lemon extract to the mixture.
 
17 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: ALOHALANI
Great tasting cookie. I used a tsp. of fresh lemon juice, and a tbs. of lemon zest (omitting the lemon extract). Excellent. After trying these, I have also decided to skip the rolling in sugar step, and just dust the cooled cookies with powdered sugar. The powdered sugar will nestle nicely into the surface of this cookie! Even though I made some slight alterations, I give these cookies 5 stars because they are sooo easy to prepare, quick to cook, and are incredibly easy to transport. It's crisp, yet chewy, allowing them to be packaged in any way. Mahalo nui loa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2003
Reviewed by: JENMI
Sweet Fancy Moses!!!!!!!!!!! These cookies are one of THE BEST that has ever come out of my oven! I couldn't believe how fast they were mixed up. We rolled these in a mixture of yellow colored sugar and regular granulated-gave them a nice yellow color with a little sparkle-they are really pretty. The taste is incredible-so light and refreshing. You would never guess that there isn't any real lemon in this recipe. The citrus flavor and the chewy texture of this cookie is fabulous-I will make this over and over! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 May 2003
Reviewed by: queendiva1
What I love about these cookies is that they not only taste great with a great texture, but they also look perfect. They bake into perfect circles. I made these for a birthday party and rolled them in colored decorator's sugar to match our party colors instead of regular white sugar. If you're pressed for time put the dough in the freezer to chill, only takes about 20 minutes. I'm baffled by other reviewers comments about the cookies spreading too much. My only guess is that their dough wasn't chilled enough or they didn't use real butter. I baked mine about 2 inches apart and had room to spare when they were done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Vivian
I would double, if not triple, the lemon extract. Also, if anyone is wondering why there are discrepancies in the reviews as to the texture: if you want a crisp cookie, use lemon extract, not lemon juice. The acid in lemon juice will react with the baking soda to create a leavening agent, giving you chewy cookies. But, as others have said, these cookies are quite beautiful =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah
A few key changes brought these up to five star status! I doubled the lemon extract, added a tsp. of fresh lemon zest, and added several drops of yellow food coloring to the wet ingredients. I also made my own lemon sugar to roll them in, by adding lemon extract and yellow food coloring to the sugar! I only rolled the top of the cookie, as I didn't want them to be overly sweet. I didn't have parchment paper, I used cooking-spray and a light dusting of flour on the sheet, and they didn't stick at all. Also, I only had unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients. My dough was easy to handle after 15 minutes in the freezer. This cookie is delicious, and with the changes I added, is a real keeper. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2003
Reviewed by: My4NonBlondes
This is the perfect summer cookie, especially here in the Southwest! This cookie is crisp on the edges, soft in the middle, with a very light lemony taste. These began to brown pretty quickly, so I decreased the oven temp a few degrees and baked for 10 minutes. I also made them a little smaller, using rounded teaspoons instead of the larger cookie. They did spread a little, but the tsp size bakes a perfect tea sized cookie. These are great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: BevBeaumier
These cookies were great! I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used a tablespoon each of lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. Lovely cookies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Momi
These cookies are pretty good, but I like to make them smaller than "walnut size". I used 2 tsp lemon extract, and next time I will add a little more. I suspect that reviewer who complained that these are "too sweet" used the entire 2 cups of sugar in the dough rather than reserving a cup of sugar to roll the dough balls in. This recipe makes very pretty cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches