My reviews (811)

Best-ever roast chicken

Whole chicken is marinated in a spice mix of cloves, allspice, nutmeg and cinnamon then roasted. If you want an ultra-moist roast chicken, rotate the chicken by 180 degrees every 15 minutes, during the cooking time.
Reviews (811)


25 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: DrLizardo69
First time I ever made a roast chicken and it turned out delightfully tender and delicious! This might be a new family recipe.
 
13 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: ionaC
really nice recipe! something different, flavour gets a little sicky after a while, but over all a really nice different flavour.
 
04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: KAITCH
This is only the 2nd time in my life making a whole roasted chicken (because I find them too dry and bland to bother), but after using *this* recipe it may just become a weekly occaision! Not only was this easy to prepare and the flavour outstanding, this was the JUICIEST chicken I have ever eaten - anywhere! I am so impressed with this recipe, I'm going to try this rub/marinade and roasting method with my next holiday turkey. I think roasting it breast-side down may be the key in retaining the flavourful juices. My only changes were to double the spices and add an onion to the cavity with the garlic. Amazing chicken!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Denise R
Excellent recipe. I didnt realize I was out of allspice, so I substituted with dried rosemary and pepper. I put 1 cup of water in the bottom of the pan, with quartered potatoes, celery, onions and carrots. Cooked uncovered at 400 for 30 min and then 350 for 45 min. Once the skin was crispy, I covered with foil. It was so tender and juicy. A HIT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Jessie
The savory aroma of the cooking chicken didn't disappoint the eater. My husband loved this roasted chicken. I doubled the spices as other reviewers recommended. I didn't marinade overnight... I just rubbed it in and put it in the oven. I also stuffed it with an onion. Husband has already requested for this chicken again. It was so easy. And the result was a hot, juicy and tender chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Patty M.
I am an extremely picky cooker and eater. My kids could not be pickier. I also love to cook and am considered to be pretty good at it. Having said this, this was the best chicken recipe I've ever made! I followed the advice to double the spices and I did marinate it overnight. I put the spices under the skin and rubbed them inside the bird as well. then I cut slits in the skin to make sure the flavors got in. Being concerned about the smoke issue, I used one of those stand up chicken cookers where you place the bird on two metal arches with a bowl in the middle to catch the juices. I cooked it at 350 for just over an hour and It was perfect. The only things I changed were I sprinkled garlic powder inside and out instead of crushing garlic and I basted it once with some melted butter.This recipe was a total sucess with not one morsel left over. The dogs were going crazy over the smell, but as cinnamon is bad for dogs we did not give them any. This is a great company dish and I plan to make it again this weekend when we have friends over. Absolute perfection!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: WATTYZ
AWESOME recipe! I just made it for the first time tripling the spices because I cut out the backbone to butterfly it (and put it under the skin for me to eat) coating both the inside and out, as well as under the skin and marinated in a zip bag only a few hours because that's all the time I had. I roasted a 4 lb chicken with the directions shown butterflied breast down with minced garlic on the inside of the breast, and it is EXCELLENT! My 9 year old even gobbled it up! DEFINATELY will make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Kristina M
This recipe is good, my family loves it. At first I was a little hesitant to put sugar and cinnamon on meat, but I'm glad I did, because it's the best whole chicken recipe I've made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: lakeffect
WOW! We were having guests over and I wanted to serve more than just a basic roasted chicken. I followed advice and doubled the spices, no allspice though. I rubbed the mixture under the skin with the garlic and marinated for the recommended 24 hours. I baked it according to directions, and it came out delicious! The left-overs made a delicious and exotically spiced chicken soup. These are my only changes: #1 Double the spices, mix with grated garlic. #2 Rub under skin, marinate for 24 hours. This is my standard baked chicken now, thanks, Indriani!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Downeast Erika
I didn't have allspice and put the seasoning under the skin since we are non skin eaters. Otherwise I made this as written- YUM! It was moist and delicious. I had hoped for leftovers- but my husband and I and his parents ate every single piece of meat off the chicken! We were literally hunting for the smallest morsels that were left.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches