My reviews (23)

Slow cooker chicken and cashews

Very little preparation time is required for this recipe. Chicken thighs are slow cooked with a Chinese-style sauce and topped with cashew nuts. Delicious over noodles or rice.
Reviews (23)


01 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: woolcos
Super easy to make. Used black instead of white pepper and put as little water as I could get away with so chicken was only about 2/3 covered - you don't lose the moisture from slow cookers so if you add too much it just ends up watery. It was tasty but not the most wow dish I have ever made. I served with stir fried bok choy and peppers and rice.
 
14 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: cwalker
Good taste and plenty for 6. I added some carrots cut into thin lengths and also at the same time as adding the cashews gave it a stir noticed it was a little wattery for my liking and added some water mixed with cornflour.
 
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: seashell66
I made this last night and my family loved it. I used chicken breast, because I don't like thighs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Zenetanar
This was really good. The only thing I have to say is that it doesn't need as much water as the recipe calls for (next time I will not cover the chicken -- it was too watery) and it really doesn't need a whole pound of cashews! At $10/ lb I bought a 1/2 lb and it was still too much. Next time I'll use 1/4 lb.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Hutchinson8813
Very, very nice! Really easy and tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: shari
This dish is wonderful; especially if you like asian/garlicy food. I followed the directions with the exception of using chicken breasts, because I needed to use them up. I served with whole wheat noodles, broccoli, and mandarin oranges. What a great, healthier alternative to take-out; cheaper too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Leonda58
This is a excellent recipe to use as a base for your own version. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a mixture of corn starch and chicken broth when I added the cashews. That thickened the broth. There's a lot of cashews, which I love, so you may want to adjust that item to suit your own personal tastes. Next time I'm adding mushrooms and some green and red peppers. Tastes really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: earwigsmom
While my son commented that it "smelled funny" while cooking, everyone gobbled it up when it was done! I added some sliced water chestnuts about 15 min before serving and the cashews (much less than what was called for) about 5 minutes before serving over steamed rice. I made the Snap pea appitizer recipe (also from this site) to accompany it -- perfect! Will definately make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: troy.kel
this should be called fishy chicken. I cook a lot of Chinese food and use Oyster sauce & fish sauce all the time, but never does the food taste only like this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Lindsey624
I thought this was a very tasty dish, although I could have stood to have more chicken in the mix, which is the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5. I didn't have scallions so I used regular green onions, and I thought it was fine. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding the cashews. I was making my meal overnight for a dinner the next day, so I actually chilled it during the day in the refrigerator. I pulled the chicken pieces out of the sauce and let them warm in the crockpot, while I reheated all the sauce on the stove. As part of the reheating, I brought the sauce to a low boil and added the cashews. It turned out perfectly - the cashews were soft but firm, and retained their shape well. The whole mixture of flavors was really delicious. I was afraid of the fish sauce after reading other reviews on the website, but there was nothing "fishy" tasting about it at all. I will definitely make this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches